linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [RFC PATCH 00/13] Introduce first class virtual address spaces

To: Till Smejkal <till.smejkal@googlemail.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH 00/13] Introduce first class virtual address spaces
From: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Date: Thu, 16 Mar 2017 09:21:38 +0100 (CET)
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>, Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>, Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>, Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>, Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>, Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>, Steven Miao <realmz6@gmail.com>, Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, James Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>, Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, X86 ML <x86@kernel.org>, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>, Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>, Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>, Pawel Osciak <pawel@osciak.com>, Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>, Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com>, David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>, Brian Norris <computersforpeace@gmail.com>, Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@free-electrons.com>, Marek Vasut <marek.vasut@gmail.com>, Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>, Cyrille Pitchen <cyrille.pitchen@atmel.com>, Felipe Balbi <balbi@kernel.org>, Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>, Benjamin LaHaise <bcrl@kvack.org>, Nadia Yvette Chambers <nyc@holomorphy.com>, Jeff Layton <jlayton@poochiereds.net>, "J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@fieldses.org>, Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>, Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>, Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>, Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>, Jaroslav Kysela <perex@perex.cz>, Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.com>, "linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, arcml <linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org>, "linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org" <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>, adi-buildroot-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org, "linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org" <linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org>, linux-metag@vger.kernel.org, Linux MIPS Mailing List <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>, "linux-s390@vger.kernel.org" <linux-s390@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-sh@vger.kernel.org" <linux-sh@vger.kernel.org>, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org, Linux Media Mailing List <linux-media@vger.kernel.org>, linux-mtd@lists.infradead.org, USB list <linux-usb@vger.kernel.org>, Linux FS Devel <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>, linux-aio@kvack.org, "linux-mm@kvack.org" <linux-mm@kvack.org>, Linux API <linux-api@vger.kernel.org>, linux-arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>, ALSA development <alsa-devel@alsa-project.org>
In-reply-to: <20170315220234.mooiyrzqdsglo4lp@arch-dev>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <20170315220234.mooiyrzqdsglo4lp@arch-dev>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Alpine 2.20 (DEB 67 2015-01-07)
On Wed, 15 Mar 2017, Till Smejkal wrote:
> On Wed, 15 Mar 2017, Andy Lutomirski wrote:

> > > VAS segments on the other side would provide a functionality to
> > > achieve the same without the need of any mounted filesystem. However,
> > > I agree, that this is just a small advantage compared to what can
> > > already be achieved with the existing functionality provided by the
> > > Linux kernel.
> > 
> > I see this "small advantage" as "resource leak and security problem".
> 
> I don't agree here. VAS segments are basically in-memory files that are
> handled by the kernel directly without using a file system. Hence, if an

Why do we need yet another mechanism to represent something which looks
like a file instead of simply using existing mechanisms and extend them?

Thanks,

        tglx

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>