linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 1/3] futex: remove duplicated code

To: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/3] futex: remove duplicated code
From: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Date: Fri, 3 Mar 2017 15:08:37 +0100
Cc: akpm@linux-foundation.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>, Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>, Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>, Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>, Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>, Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>, Stefan Kristiansson <stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi>, Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>, "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>, Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, x86@kernel.org, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, openrisc@lists.librecores.org, linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <20170303122712.13353-1-jslaby@suse.cz>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <20170303122712.13353-1-jslaby@suse.cz>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
On Fri, Mar 03, 2017 at 01:27:10PM +0100, Jiri Slaby wrote:
> There is code duplicated over all architecture's headers for
> futex_atomic_op_inuser. Namely op decoding, access_ok check for uaddr,
> and comparison of the result.
> 
> Remove this duplication and leave up to the arches only the needed
> assembly which is now in arch_futex_atomic_op_inuser.
> 
> Note that s390 removed access_ok check in d12a29703 ("s390/uaccess:
> remove pointless access_ok() checks") as access_ok there returns true.
> We introduce it back to the helper for the sake of simplicity (it gets
> optimized away anyway).
> 
> Signed-off-by: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>
> ---
>  arch/s390/include/asm/futex.h       | 23 ++++-------------
>  include/asm-generic/futex.h         | 50 
> +++++++------------------------------
>  kernel/futex.c                      | 36 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Looks good to me and still boots on s390. Therefore for the s390 bits:
Acked-by: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>

Thanks!


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>