linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 0/5] split ET_DYN ASLR from mmap ASLR

To: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/5] split ET_DYN ASLR from mmap ASLR
From: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Date: Fri, 27 Feb 2015 07:19:49 +0100
Cc: akpm@linux-foundation.org, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>, Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, x86@kernel.org, Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>, Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>, "David A. Long" <dave.long@linaro.org>, Andrey Ryabinin <a.ryabinin@samsung.com>, Arun Chandran <achandran@mvista.com>, Yann Droneaud <ydroneaud@opteya.com>, Min-Hua Chen <orca.chen@gmail.com>, Paul Burton <paul.burton@imgtec.com>, Alex Smith <alex@alex-smith.me.uk>, Markos Chandras <markos.chandras@imgtec.com>, Vineeth Vijayan <vvijayan@mvista.com>, Jeff Bailey <jeffbailey@google.com>, Michael Holzheu <holzheu@linux.vnet.ibm.com>, Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>, Behan Webster <behanw@converseincode.com>, Ismael Ripoll <iripoll@upv.es>, Hector Marco-Gisbert <hecmargi@upv.es>, Jan-Simon Möller <dl9pf@gmx.de>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=gmail.com; s=20120113; h=sender:date:from:to:cc:subject:message-id:references:mime-version :content-type:content-disposition:in-reply-to:user-agent; bh=1aLQfJbuN6xHhxPcEBptYZQzUBbS3OCl0noG3mDP9PY=; b=qR/swnnl+vcKsZIWRRV/i0wjhbcBRIYlO83Hg68Yte1lYw4xJ0NPYreQ0VNoVledTG EGEsYZGiJYWHKozB7JZ33aytMXHPKus8V6iBFa3lnVpINSgybu5bCe5Coj/H18C6Q6Ph kfmp0bBAXaGMh03Gqz2WS/irBUGw+EEdirn+bGgFRO56zbtQwJy5ndJBSFf92Q6YpwjS MBw7Pgn8RRP59/wWAWYeOFFOZA0Y/eccvfRT2lMx6Ln80OUCnUaRAOL49bEYPFxzg1Lx 2AKd1Hg8BANtVagGVKbtg02LzGVibikgkw+5OkcbckqP0XkqwsePHkWD13iOlPfnr6Sc kxHw==
In-reply-to: <1425006434-3106-1-git-send-email-keescook@chromium.org>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1425006434-3106-1-git-send-email-keescook@chromium.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.23 (2014-03-12)
* Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> wrote:

> This separates ET_DYN ASLR from mmap ASLR, as already 
> done on s390. The various architectures that are already 
> randomizing mmap (arm, arm64, mips, powerpc, s390, and 
> x86), have their various forms of arch_mmap_rnd() made 
> available via the new CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_ELF_RANDOMIZE. For 
> these architectures, arch_randomize_brk() is collapsed as 
> well.
> 
> This is an alternative to the solutions in: 
> https://lkml.org/lkml/2015/2/23/442

Nice!

Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>

Thanks,

        Ingo

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>