linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 2/5] MIPS: Allow platforms to specify the decompressor load a

To: Andrew Bresticker <abrestic@chromium.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/5] MIPS: Allow platforms to specify the decompressor load address
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Date: Tue, 24 Feb 2015 09:15:12 +0100
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, devicetree@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel.garcia@imgtec.com>, James Hartley <james.hartley@imgtec.com>, James Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com>, Lars-Peter Clausen <lars@metafoo.de>
In-reply-to: <1424741507-8882-3-git-send-email-abrestic@chromium.org>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1424741507-8882-1-git-send-email-abrestic@chromium.org> <1424741507-8882-3-git-send-email-abrestic@chromium.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: KMail/4.11.5 (Linux/3.16.0-10-generic; KDE/4.11.5; x86_64; ; )
On Monday 23 February 2015 17:31:44 Andrew Bresticker wrote:
> Platforms which use raw zboot images may need to link the image at
> a fixed address if there is no other way to communicate the load
> address to the bootloader.  Allow the per-platform Kbuild files
> to specify an optional zboot image load address (zload-y) and fall
> back to calc_vmlinuz_load_addr if unset.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Andrew Bresticker <abrestic@chromium.org>
> Cc: Lars-Peter Clausen <lars@metafoo.de>

No objections to the patch, but have you considered doing the
same thing as ARM's AUTO_ZRELADDR, where we calculate the
address at runtime from the entry point?

I assume this is the same kind of address you are talking
about here; if not, nevermind.

        Arnd

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>