linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH v13 4/6] clk: Add rate constraints to clocks

To: Tomeu Vizoso <tomeu.vizoso@collabora.com>, "Stephen Boyd" <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v13 4/6] clk: Add rate constraints to clocks
From: Mike Turquette <mturquette@linaro.org>
Date: Sun, 01 Feb 2015 14:18:56 -0800
Cc: "Geert Uytterhoeven" <geert@linux-m68k.org>, "Linux MIPS Mailing List" <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, "linux-doc@vger.kernel.org" <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>, "Tony Lindgren" <tony@atomide.com>, "Chao Xie" <chao.xie@marvell.com>, "Haojian Zhuang" <haojian.zhuang@linaro.org>, "Boris Brezillon" <boris.brezillon@free-electrons.com>, "Russell King" <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, "Jonathan Corbet" <corbet@lwn.net>, "Emilio L??pez" <emilio@elopez.com.ar>, "Linux-sh list" <linux-sh@vger.kernel.org>, "Alex Elder" <elder@linaro.org>, "Zhangfei Gao" <zhangfei.gao@linaro.org>, "Bintian Wang" <bintian.wang@huawei.com>, "Matt Porter" <mporter@linaro.org>, "linux-omap@vger.kernel.org" <linux-omap@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org" <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>, "linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, "Ralf Baechle" <ralf@linux-mips.org>, "Tero Kristo" <t-kristo@ti.com>, "Manuel Lauss" <manuel.lauss@gmail.com>, "Maxime Ripard" <maxime.ripard@free-electrons.com>, "Javier Martinez Canillas" <javier.martinez@collabora.co.uk>
In-reply-to: <CAAObsKDxhV7Vveq5FizTUp9ur2Rsq1bM+YQa4uPksh5ntMQV3Q@mail.gmail.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1422011024-32283-1-git-send-email-tomeu.vizoso@collabora.com> <1422011024-32283-5-git-send-email-tomeu.vizoso@collabora.com> <CAMuHMdUGgA70o2SgdJR3X6AkCcMssHU0POLfzppADT-O=BrYDw@mail.gmail.com> <54CA8662.7040008@codeaurora.org> <20150131013158.GA4323@codeaurora.org> <CAAObsKDxhV7Vveq5FizTUp9ur2Rsq1bM+YQa4uPksh5ntMQV3Q@mail.gmail.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: alot/0.3.5
Quoting Tomeu Vizoso (2015-01-31 10:36:22)
> On 31 January 2015 at 02:31, Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org> wrote:
> > On 01/29, Stephen Boyd wrote:
> >> On 01/29/15 05:31, Geert Uytterhoeven wrote:
> >> > Hi Tomeu, Mike,
> >> >
> >> > On Fri, Jan 23, 2015 at 12:03 PM, Tomeu Vizoso
> >> > <tomeu.vizoso@collabora.com> wrote:
> >> >> --- a/drivers/clk/clk.c
> >> >> +++ b/drivers/clk/clk.c
> >> >> @@ -2391,25 +2543,24 @@ int __clk_get(struct clk *clk)
> >> >>         return 1;
> >> >>  }
> >> >>
> >> >> -static void clk_core_put(struct clk_core *core)
> >> >> +void __clk_put(struct clk *clk)
> >> >>  {
> >> >>         struct module *owner;
> >> >>
> >> >> -       owner = core->owner;
> >> >> +       if (!clk || WARN_ON_ONCE(IS_ERR(clk)))
> >> >> +               return;
> >> >>
> >> >>         clk_prepare_lock();
> >> >> -       kref_put(&core->ref, __clk_release);
> >> >> +
> >> >> +       hlist_del(&clk->child_node);
> >> >> +       clk_core_set_rate_nolock(clk->core, clk->core->req_rate);
> >> > At this point, clk->core->req_rate is still zero, causing
> >> > cpg_div6_clock_round_rate() to be called with a zero "rate" parameter,
> >> > e.g. on r8a7791:
> >>
> >> Hmm.. I wonder if we should assign core->req_rate to be the same as
> >> core->rate during __clk_init()? That would make this call to
> >> clk_core_set_rate_nolock() a nop in this case.
> >>
> >
> > Here's a patch to do this
> >
> > ---8<----
> > From: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
> > Subject: [PATCH] clk: Assign a requested rate by default
> >
> > We need to assign a requested rate here so that we avoid
> > requesting a rate of 0 on clocks when we remove clock consumers.
> 
> Hi, this looks good to me.
> 
> Reviewed-by: Tomeu Vizoso <tomeu.vizoso@collabora.com>

It seems to fix the total boot failure on OMAPs, and hopefully does the
same for SH Mobile and others. I've squashed this into Tomeu's rate
constraints patch to maintain bisect.

Regards,
Mike

> 
> Thanks,
> 
> Tomeu
> 
> > Signed-off-by: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
> > ---
> >  drivers/clk/clk.c | 8 +++++---
> >  1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)
> >
> > diff --git a/drivers/clk/clk.c b/drivers/clk/clk.c
> > index a29daf9edea4..8416ed1c40be 100644
> > --- a/drivers/clk/clk.c
> > +++ b/drivers/clk/clk.c
> > @@ -2142,6 +2142,7 @@ int __clk_init(struct device *dev, struct clk 
> > *clk_user)
> >         struct clk_core *orphan;
> >         struct hlist_node *tmp2;
> >         struct clk_core *clk;
> > +       unsigned long rate;
> >
> >         if (!clk_user)
> >                 return -EINVAL;
> > @@ -2266,12 +2267,13 @@ int __clk_init(struct device *dev, struct clk 
> > *clk_user)
> >          * then rate is set to zero.
> >          */
> >         if (clk->ops->recalc_rate)
> > -               clk->rate = clk->ops->recalc_rate(clk->hw,
> > +               rate = clk->ops->recalc_rate(clk->hw,
> >                                 clk_core_get_rate_nolock(clk->parent));
> >         else if (clk->parent)
> > -               clk->rate = clk->parent->rate;
> > +               rate = clk->parent->rate;
> >         else
> > -               clk->rate = 0;
> > +               rate = 0;
> > +       clk->rate = clk->req_rate = rate;
> >
> >         /*
> >          * walk the list of orphan clocks and reparent any that are 
> > children of
> > --
> > Qualcomm Innovation Center, Inc. is a member of Code Aurora Forum,
> > a Linux Foundation Collaborative Project
> >
> > _______________________________________________
> > linux-arm-kernel mailing list
> > linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
> > http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-arm-kernel

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>