linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 0/7] Remove HAVE_PWM config option

To: 'Arnd Bergmann' <arnd@arndb.de>, 'Ralf Baechle' <ralf@linux-mips.org>, 'Dmitry Torokhov' <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>, 'Thierry Reding' <thierry.reding@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/7] Remove HAVE_PWM config option
From: Jingoo Han <jg1.han@samsung.com>
Date: Tue, 11 Feb 2014 12:02:21 +0900
Cc: 'Linus Walleij' <linus.walleij@linaro.org>, 'Russell King - ARM Linux' <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, 'Eric Miao' <eric.y.miao@gmail.com>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-input@vger.kernel.org, linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org, 'Jingoo Han' <jg1.han@samsung.com>, 'Sascha Hauer' <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>, 'Roland Stigge' <stigge@antcom.de>
Dlp-filter: Pass
In-reply-to: <003901cf25fc$73002790$590076b0$%han@samsung.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <003901cf25fc$73002790$590076b0$%han@samsung.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
Thread-index: Ac8l/GYGhOsBgXmsQoSPhLhnprg0iAA2IYdQ
On Monday, February 10, 2014 10:07 AM, Jingoo Han wrote:
> 
> The HAVE_PWM symbol is only for legacy platforms that provide
> the PWM API without using the generic framework, while PWM symbol
> is used for PWM drivers using the generic PWM framework.
> 
> I looked at all HAVE_PWMs in the latest mainline kernel 3.14-rc1.
> Three platforms are still using HAVE_PWM as below:
> 
> 1. ARM - PXA
>   ./arch/arm/mach-pxa/Kconfig
> 
> 2. ARM - NXP LPC32XX
>   ./arch/arm/Kconfig
>   config ARCH_LPC32XX
>       select HAVE_PWM
> 
> 3. MIPS - Ingenic JZ4740 based machines
>   ./arch/mips/Kconfig
>   config MACH_JZ4740
>       select HAVE_PWM
> 
> However, the legacy PWM drivers for PXA, LPC32XX, and JZ474 were
> already moved to the generic PWM framework.
>   ./drivers/pwm/pwm-pxa.c
>   ./drivers/pwm/pwm-lpc32xx.c
>   ./drivers/pwm/pwm-jz4740.c
> 
> In conclusion, HAVE_PWM should be removed, because HAVE_PWM is
> NOT required anymore.
> 
> Jingoo Han (7):
>       ARM: pxa: don't select HAVE_PWM
>       ARM: lpc32xx: don't select HAVE_PWM
>       ARM: remove HAVE_PWM config option
>       MIPS: jz4740: don't select HAVE_PWM
>       Input: max8997_haptic: remove HAVE_PWM dependencies
>       Input: pwm-beepe: remove HAVE_PWM dependencies
>       pwm: don't use IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_HAVE_PWM)
> 
>  arch/arm/Kconfig           |    4 ----
>  arch/arm/mach-pxa/Kconfig  |   15 ---------------
>  arch/mips/Kconfig          |    1 -
>  drivers/input/misc/Kconfig |    4 ++--
>  include/linux/pwm.h        |    2 +-
>  5 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 23 deletions(-)

(+cc Sascha Hauer, Roland Stigge)

The same patch was already submitted by Sascha Hauer. [1]
So, please ignore this patch. Thank you.

[1] https://lkml.org/lkml/2014/1/16/262

Best regards,
Jingoo Han

> 
> I would like to merge these patches as below:
> 
> 1. Through arm-soc tree
>   [PATCH 1/7] ARM: pxa: don't select HAVE_PWM
>   [PATCH 2/7] ARM: lpc32xx: don't select HAVE_PWM
>   [PATCH 3/7] ARM: remove HAVE_PWM config option
> 
> 2. Through MIPS tree
>   [PATCH 4/7] MIPS: jz4740: don't select HAVE_PWM
> 
> 3. Through Input tree
>   [PATCH 5/7] Input: max8997_haptic: remove HAVE_PWM dependencies
>   [PATCH 6/7] Input: pwm-beepe: remove HAVE_PWM dependencies
> 
> 4. Through PWM tree
>   [PATCH 7/7] pwm: don't use IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_HAVE_PWM)
> 
> After merging these patches, all HAVE_PWM will be removed from
> the mainline kernel. Thank you. :-)
> 
> Best regards,
> Jingoo Han


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>