linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: mips octeon memory model questions

To: David Daney <ddaney@caviumnetworks.com>
Subject: Re: mips octeon memory model questions
From: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Date: Thu, 6 Feb 2014 12:45:17 +0100
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Paul McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>, Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
In-reply-to: <52F144C3.1080705@caviumnetworks.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <20140204184150.GB5002@laptop.programming.kicks-ass.net> <52F144C3.1080705@caviumnetworks.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2012-12-30)
On Tue, Feb 04, 2014 at 11:51:31AM -0800, David Daney wrote:
> On OCTEON, SC implies a SYNC operation for the target memory location. So
> the "SC b" is ordered before any writes that come after the SC.

Ah, that makes it all come together. I was thrown by octeon initially
having WEAK_REORDERING_BEYOND_LLSC set and thus thinking there were no
implied barriers.

Thanks David.

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>