linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 2/2] clocksource: Make clocksource register functions void

To: Tony Prisk <linux@prisktech.co.nz>, Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/2] clocksource: Make clocksource register functions void
From: Yijing Wang <wangyijing@huawei.com>
Date: Thu, 23 Jan 2014 16:17:33 +0800
Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Linux MIPS Mailing List <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>, Kevin Hilman <khilman@deeprootsystems.com>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, linux <linux@openrisc.net>, Sekhar Nori <nsekhar@ti.com>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, Daniel Walker <dwalker@fifo99.com>, Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no>, Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>, Kukjin Kim <kgene.kim@samsung.com>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, "Richard Weinberger" <richard@nod.at>, the arch/x86 maintainers <x86@kernel.org>, Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, <linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>, David Brown <davidb@codeaurora.org>, Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com>, Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>, uml-devel <user-mode-linux-devel@lists.sourceforge.net>, Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@atmel.com>, Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>, "Barry Song" <baohua@kernel.org>, <linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org>, uml-user <user-mode-linux-user@lists.sourceforge.net>, "linux-omap@vger.kernel.org" <linux-omap@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org" <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>, <davinci-linux-open-source@linux.davincidsp.com>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Jim Cromie <jim.cromie@gmail.com>, <microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au>, Hanjun Guo <guohanjun@huawei.com>, "linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Bryan Huntsman <bryanh@codeaurora.org>, "uclinux-dist-devel@blackfin.uclinux.org" <uclinux-dist-devel@blackfin.uclinux.org>, "linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org" <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>
In-reply-to: <52E0CD18.5080104@prisktech.co.nz>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1390461166-36440-1-git-send-email-wangyijing@huawei.com> <52E0C889.6000106@prisktech.co.nz> <CAMuHMdUcKb8m71Z7dUo86MQ_KZgPujxsduUUt3Mz8Oke+DLSVw@mail.gmail.com> <52E0CD18.5080104@prisktech.co.nz>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:24.0) Gecko/20100101 Thunderbird/24.0.1
On 2014/1/23 16:04, Tony Prisk wrote:
> On 23/01/14 20:58, Geert Uytterhoeven wrote:
>> On Thu, Jan 23, 2014 at 8:45 AM, Tony Prisk <linux@prisktech.co.nz> wrote:
>>>>    -static inline int clocksource_register_hz(struct clocksource *cs, u32
>>>> hz)
>>>> +static inline void clocksource_register_hz(struct clocksource *cs, u32
>>>> hz)
>>>>    {
>>>>          return __clocksource_register_scale(cs, 1, hz);
>>>>    }
>>>
>>> This doesn't make sense - you are still returning a value on a function
>>> declared void, and the return is now from a function that doesn't return
>>> anything either ?!?!
>>> Doesn't this throw a compile-time warning??
>> No, passing on void in functions returning void doesn't cause compiler
>> warnings.
>>
>> Gr{oetje,eeting}s,
>>
>>                          Geert
>>
>> -- 
>> Geert Uytterhoeven -- There's lots of Linux beyond ia32 -- 
>> geert@linux-m68k.org
>>
>> In personal conversations with technical people, I call myself a hacker. But
>> when I'm talking to journalists I just say "programmer" or something like 
>> that.
>>                                  -- Linus Torvalds
> Doesn't seem right to me (even if there is no warning) but that's probably 
> because I used to program in Pascal where functions with no return were 
> 'procedures' :)
> Whether it needs to be changed or not:
> 
> For the vt8500 part -
> Acked-by: Tony Prisk <linux@prisktech.co.nz>

Thanks!

> 
> Regards
> Tony Prisk
> 
> 
> .
> 


-- 
Thanks!
Yijing


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>