linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [3.13-rc regression] Unbreak Loongson2 and r4k-generic flush icache

To: Alexandre Oliva <oliva@gnu.org>, Sergei Shtylyov <sergei.shtylyov@cogentembedded.com>
Subject: Re: [3.13-rc regression] Unbreak Loongson2 and r4k-generic flush icache range
From: John Crispin <john@phrozen.org>
Date: Tue, 14 Jan 2014 11:37:18 +0100
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org
In-reply-to: <oriotmopal.fsf@livre.home>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <ord2jwnmwd.fsf@livre.home> <52D3EA9B.6020404@cogentembedded.com> <oriotmopal.fsf@livre.home>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.9; rv:24.0) Gecko/20100101 Thunderbird/24.2.0
i think all questions were already answered

http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/2014-01/msg00127.html



On 14/01/2014 11:01, Alexandre Oliva wrote:
> On Jan 13, 2014, Sergei Shtylyov <sergei.shtylyov@cogentembedded.com> wrote:
>
>> Hello.
>>> Commit 14bd8c08, that replaced Loongson2-specific ifdefs with cpu tests,
>>> inverted the CPU test in local_r4k_flush_icache_range.  Loongson2 won't
>>> boot up using the generic icache flush code.  Presumably other CPUs
>>> might face other problems when presented with Loongson2-specific icache
>>> flush code too.  This patch enabled my Yeeloong to boot up successfully
>>> a 3.13-rc kernel for the first time, after a long git bisect session.
>>> Signed-off-by: Alexandre Oliva <lxoliva@fsfla.org>
>>    Fix for this issue has been posted long ago:
>> http://marc.info/?l=linux-mips&m=138575576803890
> Thanks.  As long ago as that was, I still don't see it in Torvalds's
> master branch.  Was a pull request including this patch ever send his
> way?  Such a trivial fix for such a show-stopper shouldn't find any
> difficulties making 3.13, I think.
>


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>