linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH] UPROBES: Remove useless __weak attribute

To: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] UPROBES: Remove useless __weak attribute
From: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Date: Fri, 11 Oct 2013 14:24:08 +0200
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>, Anton Arapov <anton@redhat.com>, Ananth N Mavinakayanahalli <ananth@in.ibm.com>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org
In-reply-to: <20131011005128.GA2199@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <20131009120809.GN1615@linux-mips.org> <20131011005128.GA2199@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
On Fri, Oct 11, 2013 at 06:21:28AM +0530, Srikar Dronamraju wrote:

> Will be nice to have another arch(mips) support for uprobes. 

It's basically ready to be merged - but it's triggering issues elsewhere
in the kernel which I have to resolve first.

The short version is that the memory special mapping created by uprobe
with VM_EXEC but not VM_READ permissions is not working but it's working
if I add VM_READ.  That should not be necessary so something deep down
in the guts of arch/mips is wrong.

  Ralf

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>