linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH RFC 50/77] mlx5: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code

To: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RFC 50/77] mlx5: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code
From: Eli Cohen <eli@dev.mellanox.co.il>
Date: Thu, 10 Oct 2013 18:29:45 +0300
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>, Andy King <acking@vmware.com>, Jon Mason <jon.mason@intel.com>, Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux390@de.ibm.com, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, x86@kernel.org, linux-ide@vger.kernel.org, iss_storagedev@hp.com, linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org, linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org, e1000-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, linux-driver@qlogic.com, Solarflare linux maintainers <linux-net-drivers@solarflare.com>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <20131003194837.GA27636@dhcp-26-207.brq.redhat.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com> <9650a7dfbcfd5f1da21f7b093665abf4b1041071.1380703263.git.agordeev@redhat.com> <20131003071433.GA7299@mtldesk30> <20131003194837.GA27636@dhcp-26-207.brq.redhat.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
On Thu, Oct 03, 2013 at 09:48:39PM +0200, Alexander Gordeev wrote:
> 
> pci_enable_msix() may fail, but it can not return a positive number.
>

That is true according to the current logic but the comment on top of
pci_enable_msix() still says:
"A return of < 0 indicates a failure.  Or a return of > 0 indicates
that driver request is exceeding the number of irqs or MSI-X vectors
available"

So you're counting on an implementation that may change in the future.
I think leaving the code as it is now is safer.

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>