linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

[PATCH] UPROBES: Remove useless __weak attribute

To: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>, Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>, Anton Arapov <anton@redhat.com>, Ananth N Mavinakayanahalli <ananth@in.ibm.com>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org
Subject: [PATCH] UPROBES: Remove useless __weak attribute
From: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Date: Wed, 9 Oct 2013 14:08:09 +0200
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
<linux/uprobes.h> declares arch_uprobe_skip_sstep() as a weak function.
But as there is no definition of generic version so when trying to build
uprobes for an architecture that doesn't yet have a arch_uprobe_skip_sstep()
implementation, the vmlinux will try to call arch_uprobe_skip_sstep()
somehwere in Stupidhistan leading to a system crash.  We rather want a
proper link error so remove arch_uprobe_skip_sstep().

Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>

 include/linux/uprobes.h | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/include/linux/uprobes.h b/include/linux/uprobes.h
index 2a9d75d..cec7397 100644
--- a/include/linux/uprobes.h
+++ b/include/linux/uprobes.h
@@ -124,7 +124,7 @@ extern int uprobe_post_sstep_notifier(struct pt_regs *regs);
 extern int uprobe_pre_sstep_notifier(struct pt_regs *regs);
 extern void uprobe_notify_resume(struct pt_regs *regs);
 extern bool uprobe_deny_signal(void);
-extern bool __weak arch_uprobe_skip_sstep(struct arch_uprobe *aup, struct 
pt_regs *regs);
+extern bool arch_uprobe_skip_sstep(struct arch_uprobe *aup, struct pt_regs 
*regs);
 extern void uprobe_clear_state(struct mm_struct *mm);
 #else /* !CONFIG_UPROBES */
 struct uprobes_state {

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>