linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH RFC 00/77] Re-design MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement pattern

To: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RFC 00/77] Re-design MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement pattern
From: Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au>
Date: Wed, 9 Oct 2013 12:34:37 +1100
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>, Andy King <acking@vmware.com>, Jon Mason <jon.mason@intel.com>, Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux390@de.ibm.com, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, x86@kernel.org, linux-ide@vger.kernel.org, iss_storagedev@hp.com, linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org, linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org, e1000-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, linux-driver@qlogic.com, Solarflare linux maintainers <linux-net-drivers@solarflare.com>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <20131008073301.GC10669@dhcp-26-207.brq.redhat.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com> <20131008043330.GF31666@concordia> <20131008073301.GC10669@dhcp-26-207.brq.redhat.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
On Tue, Oct 08, 2013 at 09:33:02AM +0200, Alexander Gordeev wrote:
> On Tue, Oct 08, 2013 at 03:33:30PM +1100, Michael Ellerman wrote:
> > On Wed, Oct 02, 2013 at 12:29:04PM +0200, Alexander Gordeev wrote:
> > > This technique proved to be confusing and error-prone. Vast share
> > > of device drivers simply fail to follow the described guidelines.
> > 
> > To clarify "Vast share of device drivers":
> > 
> >  - 58 drivers call pci_enable_msix()
> >  - 24 try a single allocation and then fallback to MSI/LSI
> >  - 19 use the loop style allocation as above
> >  - 14 try an allocation, and if it fails retry once
> >  - 1  incorrectly continues when pci_enable_msix() returns > 0
> > 
> > So 33 drivers (> 50%) successfully make use of the "confusing and
> > error-prone" return value.
> 
> Ok, you caught me - 'vast share' is incorrect and is a subject to
> rewording. But out of 19/58 how many drivers tested fallbacks on the
> real hardware? IOW, which drivers are affected by the pSeries quota?

It's not 19/58, it's 33/58.

As to how many we care about on powerpc I can't say, so you have a point
there. But I still think the interface is not actually that terrible.

cheers

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>