linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH RFC 00/77] Re-design MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement pattern

To: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RFC 00/77] Re-design MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement pattern
From: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
Date: Tue, 8 Oct 2013 11:07:16 +0200
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>, Andy King <acking@vmware.com>, Jon Mason <jon.mason@intel.com>, Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux390@de.ibm.com, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, x86@kernel.org, linux-ide@vger.kernel.org, iss_storagedev@hp.com, linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org, linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org, e1000-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, linux-driver@qlogic.com, Solarflare linux maintainers <linux-net-drivers@solarflare.com>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <20131007182117.GC27396@htj.dyndns.org>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com> <20131007182117.GC27396@htj.dyndns.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
On Mon, Oct 07, 2013 at 02:21:17PM -0400, Tejun Heo wrote:
> Whee.... that's a lot more than I expected.  I was just scanning
> multiple msi users.  Maybe we can stage the work in more manageable
> steps so that you don't have to go through massive conversion only to
> do it all over again afterwards and likewise people don't get
> bombarded on each iteration?  Maybe we can first update pci / msi code
> proper, msi and then msix?

Multipe MSIs is just a handful of drivers, really. MSI-X impact still
will be huge. But if we opt a different name for the new pci_enable_msix()
then we could first update pci/msi, then drivers (in few stages possibly)
and finally remove the old implementation.

> tejun

-- 
Regards,
Alexander Gordeev
agordeev@redhat.com

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>