linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH RFC 00/77] Re-design MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement pattern

To: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RFC 00/77] Re-design MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement pattern
From: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Date: Mon, 7 Oct 2013 14:21:17 -0400
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>, Andy King <acking@vmware.com>, Jon Mason <jon.mason@intel.com>, Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux390@de.ibm.com, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, x86@kernel.org, linux-ide@vger.kernel.org, iss_storagedev@hp.com, linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org, linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org, e1000-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, linux-driver@qlogic.com, Solarflare linux maintainers <linux-net-drivers@solarflare.com>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=gmail.com; s=20120113; h=sender:date:from:to:cc:subject:message-id:references:mime-version :content-type:content-disposition:in-reply-to:user-agent; bh=NgxTy3KmEWxeJUfoL4S6qec2Rf5KqvYfFT74uVM18Zk=; b=d18BVZkErMoNR3lzpCfLmuHcPLGTmiAbcegtIuipjK5/dGOOCJhLwIMAsSHIS1uNMT NTb7vJ6ROoABNKmFOME5pkbp4mDpTYop+4GEReUgkr05qAcrp8sq34vJNB5ZqIsjt477 vOBrgw0fi/lrlLSaXnxBA4+mMAxyZbu+FwOs6VyxEUrgp62J9LzUvABpo8Ktyrmpss4h VgV6pQIi6HiECleRZOsPvcr1+80OMjtWnTcKusrP7GNFbKTnOeMsQPrMkVBmMQReublj fJTvQgXZhTEnB9ZSxz6j14HV9qsjCfO1d3jtDlpU5cAJJtb8Xlf3UutEqFxAlXA+jr99 vmyg==
In-reply-to: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
Hello, Alexander.

On Wed, Oct 02, 2013 at 12:48:16PM +0200, Alexander Gordeev wrote:
> Alexander Gordeev (77):
>   PCI/MSI: Fix return value when populate_msi_sysfs() failed
>   PCI/MSI/PPC: Fix wrong RTAS error code reporting
>   PCI/MSI/s390: Fix single MSI only check
>   PCI/MSI/s390: Remove superfluous check of MSI type
>   PCI/MSI: Convert pci_msix_table_size() to a public interface
>   PCI/MSI: Factor out pci_get_msi_cap() interface
>   PCI/MSI: Re-design MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement pattern
>   PCI/MSI: Get rid of pci_enable_msi_block_auto() interface
>   ahci: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code
>   ahci: Check MRSM bit when multiple MSIs enabled
...

Whee.... that's a lot more than I expected.  I was just scanning
multiple msi users.  Maybe we can stage the work in more manageable
steps so that you don't have to go through massive conversion only to
do it all over again afterwards and likewise people don't get
bombarded on each iteration?  Maybe we can first update pci / msi code
proper, msi and then msix?

Thanks.

-- 
tejun

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>