linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH RFC 05/77] PCI/MSI: Convert pci_msix_table_size() to a public

To: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RFC 05/77] PCI/MSI: Convert pci_msix_table_size() to a public interface
From: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Date: Mon, 7 Oct 2013 14:10:43 -0400
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>, Andy King <acking@vmware.com>, Jon Mason <jon.mason@intel.com>, Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux390@de.ibm.com, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, x86@kernel.org, linux-ide@vger.kernel.org, iss_storagedev@hp.com, linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org, linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org, e1000-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, linux-driver@qlogic.com, Solarflare linux maintainers <linux-net-drivers@solarflare.com>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=gmail.com; s=20120113; h=sender:date:from:to:cc:subject:message-id:references:mime-version :content-type:content-disposition:in-reply-to:user-agent; bh=TYk0awj7MOHTKRF6ajcknicTR7ZR0VOjUdGfnZ71HnA=; b=X2WpF7f7Q6vnKQTsuh1lQTV+2dm9JvhExTisDrhexxsR2pCvsWf+gxyqHPgMlZ/pHL g1YGLRcO0rXyqSWSMdR+Lfyk3/xdghcBydbRGazhsI/BYE059pj1CChWmah+O/cjXe2I sEuyT3wNCIw5/s7QFHMe4VfzsXCzgPpGrPi5dsB5QDu/hztFCgt+efOlXfs2PsyLmWMq FfWxBrXSssqMu5A3q7YXi6+51gYjR2orEA/tT2jPI0sWQOavSDWcbSArMRiQrpMk1Rq0 9lZz1kUjxSwzPdTQHsrHRNY2ne5goqo7IZkD9Wwf/kJLoqaAKKj6W9ON0q3Q0mpTsEPt n0nA==
In-reply-to: <e8b51bd48c24d0fc4ee8adea5c138c9bf84191e9.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com> <e8b51bd48c24d0fc4ee8adea5c138c9bf84191e9.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
Hello,

On Wed, Oct 02, 2013 at 12:48:21PM +0200, Alexander Gordeev wrote:
> Make pci_msix_table_size() to return a error code if the device
> does not support MSI-X. This update is needed to facilitate a
> forthcoming re-design MSI/MSI-X interrupts enabling pattern.
> 
> Device drivers will use this interface to obtain maximum number
> of MSI-X interrupts the device supports and use that value in
> the following call to pci_enable_msix() interface.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>

Hmmm... I probably missed something but why is this necessary?  To
discern between -EINVAL and -ENOSPC?  If so, does that really matter?

Thanks.

-- 
tejun

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>