linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

RE: [PATCH RFC 00/77] Re-design MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement pattern

To: "Alexander Gordeev" <agordeev@redhat.com>, "Ben Hutchings" <bhutchings@solarflare.com>
Subject: RE: [PATCH RFC 00/77] Re-design MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement pattern
From: "David Laight" <David.Laight@ACULAB.COM>
Date: Fri, 4 Oct 2013 09:31:49 +0100
Cc: <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, <linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org>, <linux-ide@vger.kernel.org>, <linux-s390@vger.kernel.org>, "Andy King" <acking@vmware.com>, <linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org>, <linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org>, <x86@kernel.org>, "Ingo Molnar" <mingo@redhat.com>, <linux-pci@vger.kernel.org>, <iss_storagedev@hp.com>, <linux-driver@qlogic.com>, "Tejun Heo" <tj@kernel.org>, "Bjorn Helgaas" <bhelgaas@google.com>, "Dan Williams" <dan.j.williams@intel.com>, "Jon Mason" <jon.mason@intel.com>, "Solarflare linux maintainers" <linux-net-drivers@solarflare.com>, <netdev@vger.kernel.org>, <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, "Ralf Baechle" <ralf@linux-mips.org>, <e1000-devel@lists.sourceforge.net>, "Martin Schwidefsky" <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, <linux390@de.ibm.com>, <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>
In-reply-to: <20131004082920.GA4536@dhcp-26-207.brq.redhat.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com> <1380840585.3419.50.camel@bwh-desktop.uk.level5networks.com> <20131004082920.GA4536@dhcp-26-207.brq.redhat.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
Thread-index: Ac7A24Xh24Ru1N/rSJKnB/t2ngSngQAAEvWg
Thread-topic: [PATCH RFC 00/77] Re-design MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement pattern
> > It seems to me that a more useful interface would take a minimum and
> > maximum number of vectors from the driver.  This wouldn't allow the
> > driver to specify that it could only accept, say, any even number within
> > a certain range, but you could still leave the current functions
> > available for any driver that needs that.
> 
> Mmmm.. I am not sure I am getting it. Could you please rephrase?

One possibility is for drivers than can use a lot of interrupts to
request a minimum number initially and then request the additional
ones much later on.
That would make it less likely that none will be available for
devices/drivers that need them but are initialised later.

        David




<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>