linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH RFC 50/77] mlx5: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code

To: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RFC 50/77] mlx5: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code
From: Eli Cohen <eli@dev.mellanox.co.il>
Date: Thu, 3 Oct 2013 10:14:33 +0300
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>, Andy King <acking@vmware.com>, Jon Mason <jon.mason@intel.com>, Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux390@de.ibm.com, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, x86@kernel.org, linux-ide@vger.kernel.org, iss_storagedev@hp.com, linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org, linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org, e1000-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, linux-driver@qlogic.com, Solarflare linux maintainers <linux-net-drivers@solarflare.com>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <9650a7dfbcfd5f1da21f7b093665abf4b1041071.1380703263.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com> <9650a7dfbcfd5f1da21f7b093665abf4b1041071.1380703263.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
On Wed, Oct 02, 2013 at 12:49:06PM +0200, Alexander Gordeev wrote:
>  
> +     err = pci_msix_table_size(dev->pdev);
> +     if (err < 0)
> +             return err;
> +
>       nvec = dev->caps.num_ports * num_online_cpus() + MLX5_EQ_VEC_COMP_BASE;
>       nvec = min_t(int, nvec, num_eqs);
> +     nvec = min_t(int, nvec, err);
>       if (nvec <= MLX5_EQ_VEC_COMP_BASE)
>               return -ENOSPC;

Making sure we don't request more vectors then the device's is capable
of -- looks good.
>  
> @@ -131,20 +136,15 @@ static int mlx5_enable_msix(struct mlx5_core_dev *dev)
>       for (i = 0; i < nvec; i++)
>               table->msix_arr[i].entry = i;
>  
> -retry:
> -     table->num_comp_vectors = nvec - MLX5_EQ_VEC_COMP_BASE;
>       err = pci_enable_msix(dev->pdev, table->msix_arr, nvec);
> -     if (err <= 0) {
> +     if (err) {
> +             kfree(table->msix_arr);
>               return err;
> -     } else if (err > MLX5_EQ_VEC_COMP_BASE) {
> -             nvec = err;
> -             goto retry;
>       }
>  

According to latest sources, pci_enable_msix() may still fail so why
do you want to remove this code?

> -     mlx5_core_dbg(dev, "received %d MSI vectors out of %d requested\n", 
> err, nvec);
> -     kfree(table->msix_arr);
> +     table->num_comp_vectors = nvec - MLX5_EQ_VEC_COMP_BASE;
>  
> -     return -ENOSPC;
> +     return 0;
>  }
>  
>  static void mlx5_disable_msix(struct mlx5_core_dev *dev)
> -- 
> 1.7.7.6
> 
> --
> To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe netdev" in
> the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
> More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>