linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH RFC 53/77] ntb: Fix missed call to pci_enable_msix()

To: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RFC 53/77] ntb: Fix missed call to pci_enable_msix()
From: Jon Mason <jon.mason@intel.com>
Date: Wed, 2 Oct 2013 17:49:28 -0700
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>, Andy King <acking@vmware.com>, Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>, stable@vger.kernel.org, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux390@de.ibm.com, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, x86@kernel.org, linux-ide@vger.kernel.org, iss_storagedev@hp.com, linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org, linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org, e1000-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, linux-driver@qlogic.com, Solarflare linux maintainers <linux-net-drivers@solarflare.com>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <0590d63c3432229a3824bada71e07a08fb955498.1380703263.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com> <0590d63c3432229a3824bada71e07a08fb955498.1380703263.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
On Wed, Oct 02, 2013 at 12:49:09PM +0200, Alexander Gordeev wrote:
> Current MSI-X enablement code assumes MSI-Xs were successfully
> allocated in case less than requested vectors were available.
> That assumption is wrong, since MSI-Xs should be enabled with
> a repeated call to pci_enable_msix(). This update fixes this.

Good catch, I'll pull it in for my next NTB release.

Thanks,
Jon

> 
> Signed-off-by: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
> ---
>  drivers/ntb/ntb_hw.c |    4 ++++
>  1 files changed, 4 insertions(+), 0 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/ntb/ntb_hw.c b/drivers/ntb/ntb_hw.c
> index 1cb6e51..de2062c 100644
> --- a/drivers/ntb/ntb_hw.c
> +++ b/drivers/ntb/ntb_hw.c
> @@ -1075,6 +1075,10 @@ static int ntb_setup_msix(struct ntb_device *ndev)
>                        "Only %d MSI-X vectors.  Limiting the number of queues 
> to that number.\n",
>                        rc);
>               msix_entries = rc;
> +
> +             rc = pci_enable_msix(pdev, ndev->msix_entries, msix_entries);
> +             if (rc)
> +                     goto err1;
>       }
>  
>       for (i = 0; i < msix_entries; i++) {
> -- 
> 1.7.7.6
> 

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>