linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH RFC 36/77] ipr: Enable MSI-X when IPR_USE_MSIX type is set, n

To: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RFC 36/77] ipr: Enable MSI-X when IPR_USE_MSIX type is set, not IPR_USE_MSI
From: Brian King <brking@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Date: Wed, 02 Oct 2013 14:31:25 -0500
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org, linux-ide@vger.kernel.org, stable@vger.kernel.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, Andy King <acking@vmware.com>, linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org, linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, x86@kernel.org, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, iss_storagedev@hp.com, linux-driver@qlogic.com, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>, Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>, Jon Mason <jon.mason@intel.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Solarflare linux maintainers <linux-net-drivers@solarflare.com>, netdev@vger.kernel.org, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, e1000-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, Wendy Xiong <wenxiong@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
In-reply-to: <2d4272136269f3cb3b1a5ac53b12aa45c7ea65c0.1380703263.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com> <2d4272136269f3cb3b1a5ac53b12aa45c7ea65c0.1380703263.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:17.0) Gecko/20130329 Thunderbird/17.0.5
On 10/02/2013 05:48 AM, Alexander Gordeev wrote:
> Signed-off-by: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
> ---
>  drivers/scsi/ipr.c |    2 +-
>  1 files changed, 1 insertions(+), 1 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/scsi/ipr.c b/drivers/scsi/ipr.c
> index fb57e21..762a93e 100644
> --- a/drivers/scsi/ipr.c
> +++ b/drivers/scsi/ipr.c
> @@ -9527,7 +9527,7 @@ static int ipr_probe_ioa(struct pci_dev *pdev,
>               ipr_number_of_msix = IPR_MAX_MSIX_VECTORS;
>       }
> 
> -     if (ioa_cfg->ipr_chip->intr_type == IPR_USE_MSI &&
> +     if (ioa_cfg->ipr_chip->intr_type == IPR_USE_MSIX &&
>                       ipr_enable_msix(ioa_cfg) == 0)
>               ioa_cfg->intr_flag = IPR_USE_MSIX;
>       else if (ioa_cfg->ipr_chip->intr_type == IPR_USE_MSI &&
> 

Nack. ioa_cfg->ipr_chip->intr_type gets initialized from the ipr_chip table
at the top of the driver which never sets intr_type to IPR_USE_MSIX, so this
will break MSI-X support for ipr. 

We indicate at the chip level only whether we want to force LSI or whether
we want to enable MSI / MSI-X and then try enabling MSI-X and fall back to
MSI if MSI-X is not available or does not work. We then set intr_flag to 
indicate
what we are actually using on the specific adapter.

Thanks,

Brian

-- 
Brian King
Power Linux I/O
IBM Linux Technology Center



<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>