linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

[PATCH RFC 69/77] tg3: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code

To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH RFC 69/77] tg3: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code
From: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
Date: Wed, 2 Oct 2013 12:49:25 +0200
Cc: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>, Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>, Andy King <acking@vmware.com>, Jon Mason <jon.mason@intel.com>, Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux390@de.ibm.com, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, x86@kernel.org, linux-ide@vger.kernel.org, iss_storagedev@hp.com, linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org, linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org, e1000-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, linux-driver@qlogic.com, Solarflare linux maintainers <linux-net-drivers@solarflare.com>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
As result of recent re-design of the MSI/MSI-X interrupts enabling
pattern this driver has to be updated to use the new technique to
obtain a optimal number of MSI/MSI-X interrupts required.

Signed-off-by: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
---
 drivers/net/ethernet/broadcom/tg3.c |   24 +++++++++++++-----------
 1 files changed, 13 insertions(+), 11 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/broadcom/tg3.c 
b/drivers/net/ethernet/broadcom/tg3.c
index 12d961c..2e842ef3 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/broadcom/tg3.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/broadcom/tg3.c
@@ -11241,6 +11241,10 @@ static bool tg3_enable_msix(struct tg3 *tp)
        int i, rc;
        struct msix_entry msix_ent[TG3_IRQ_MAX_VECS];
 
+       rc = pci_msix_table_size(tp->pdev);
+       if (rc < 0)
+               return false;
+
        tp->txq_cnt = tp->txq_req;
        tp->rxq_cnt = tp->rxq_req;
        if (!tp->rxq_cnt)
@@ -11256,6 +11260,14 @@ static bool tg3_enable_msix(struct tg3 *tp)
                tp->txq_cnt = 1;
 
        tp->irq_cnt = tg3_irq_count(tp);
+       if (tp->irq_cnt > rc) {
+               netdev_notice(tp->dev, "Requested %d MSI-Xs, available %d\n",
+                             tp->irq_cnt, rc);
+               tp->irq_cnt = rc;
+               tp->rxq_cnt = max(rc - 1, 1);
+               if (tp->txq_cnt)
+                       tp->txq_cnt = min(tp->rxq_cnt, tp->txq_max);
+       }
 
        for (i = 0; i < tp->irq_max; i++) {
                msix_ent[i].entry  = i;
@@ -11263,18 +11275,8 @@ static bool tg3_enable_msix(struct tg3 *tp)
        }
 
        rc = pci_enable_msix(tp->pdev, msix_ent, tp->irq_cnt);
-       if (rc < 0) {
+       if (rc)
                return false;
-       } else if (rc != 0) {
-               if (pci_enable_msix(tp->pdev, msix_ent, rc))
-                       return false;
-               netdev_notice(tp->dev, "Requested %d MSI-X vectors, received 
%d\n",
-                             tp->irq_cnt, rc);
-               tp->irq_cnt = rc;
-               tp->rxq_cnt = max(rc - 1, 1);
-               if (tp->txq_cnt)
-                       tp->txq_cnt = min(tp->rxq_cnt, tp->txq_max);
-       }
 
        for (i = 0; i < tp->irq_max; i++)
                tp->napi[i].irq_vec = msix_ent[i].vector;
-- 
1.7.7.6


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>
  • [PATCH RFC 69/77] tg3: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code, Alexander Gordeev <=