linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

[PATCH RFC 67/77] rapidio: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code

To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH RFC 67/77] rapidio: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code
From: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
Date: Wed, 2 Oct 2013 12:49:23 +0200
Cc: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>, Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>, Andy King <acking@vmware.com>, Jon Mason <jon.mason@intel.com>, Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux390@de.ibm.com, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, x86@kernel.org, linux-ide@vger.kernel.org, iss_storagedev@hp.com, linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org, linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org, e1000-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, linux-driver@qlogic.com, Solarflare linux maintainers <linux-net-drivers@solarflare.com>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
As result of recent re-design of the MSI/MSI-X interrupts enabling
pattern this driver has to be updated to use the new technique to
obtain a optimal number of MSI/MSI-X interrupts required.

Signed-off-by: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
---
 drivers/rapidio/devices/tsi721.c |   27 +++++++++++++++++----------
 1 files changed, 17 insertions(+), 10 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/rapidio/devices/tsi721.c b/drivers/rapidio/devices/tsi721.c
index ff7cbf2..5edd920 100644
--- a/drivers/rapidio/devices/tsi721.c
+++ b/drivers/rapidio/devices/tsi721.c
@@ -734,6 +734,16 @@ static int tsi721_enable_msix(struct tsi721_device *priv)
        int err;
        int i;
 
+       err = pci_msix_table_size(priv->pdev);
+       if (err < 0)
+               goto err_out;
+       if (err < ARRAY_SIZE(entries)) {
+               dev_info(&priv->pdev->dev,
+                        "Only %d MSI-X vectors available, not using MSI-X\n",
+                        err);
+               return -ENOSPC;
+       }
+
        entries[TSI721_VECT_IDB].entry = TSI721_MSIX_SR2PC_IDBQ_RCV(IDB_QUEUE);
        entries[TSI721_VECT_PWRX].entry = TSI721_MSIX_SRIO_MAC_INT;
 
@@ -769,16 +779,8 @@ static int tsi721_enable_msix(struct tsi721_device *priv)
 #endif /* CONFIG_RAPIDIO_DMA_ENGINE */
 
        err = pci_enable_msix(priv->pdev, entries, ARRAY_SIZE(entries));
-       if (err) {
-               if (err > 0)
-                       dev_info(&priv->pdev->dev,
-                                "Only %d MSI-X vectors available, "
-                                "not using MSI-X\n", err);
-               else
-                       dev_err(&priv->pdev->dev,
-                               "Failed to enable MSI-X (err=%d)\n", err);
-               return err;
-       }
+       if (err)
+               goto err_out;
 
        /*
         * Copy MSI-X vector information into tsi721 private structure
@@ -833,6 +835,11 @@ static int tsi721_enable_msix(struct tsi721_device *priv)
 #endif /* CONFIG_RAPIDIO_DMA_ENGINE */
 
        return 0;
+
+err_out:
+       dev_err(&priv->pdev->dev,
+               "Failed to enable MSI-X (err=%d)\n", err);
+       return err;
 }
 #endif /* CONFIG_PCI_MSI */
 
-- 
1.7.7.6


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>
  • [PATCH RFC 67/77] rapidio: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code, Alexander Gordeev <=