linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

[PATCH RFC 40/77] ixgbevf: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code

To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH RFC 40/77] ixgbevf: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code
From: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
Date: Wed, 2 Oct 2013 12:48:56 +0200
Cc: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>, Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>, Andy King <acking@vmware.com>, Jon Mason <jon.mason@intel.com>, Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux390@de.ibm.com, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, x86@kernel.org, linux-ide@vger.kernel.org, iss_storagedev@hp.com, linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org, linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org, e1000-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, linux-driver@qlogic.com, Solarflare linux maintainers <linux-net-drivers@solarflare.com>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
As result of recent re-design of the MSI/MSI-X interrupts enabling
pattern this driver has to be updated to use the new technique to
obtain a optimal number of MSI/MSI-X interrupts required.

Signed-off-by: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
---
 drivers/net/ethernet/intel/ixgbevf/ixgbevf_main.c |   18 +++++++-----------
 1 files changed, 7 insertions(+), 11 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/intel/ixgbevf/ixgbevf_main.c 
b/drivers/net/ethernet/intel/ixgbevf/ixgbevf_main.c
index fa0537a..d506a01 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/intel/ixgbevf/ixgbevf_main.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/intel/ixgbevf/ixgbevf_main.c
@@ -1749,8 +1749,7 @@ void ixgbevf_reset(struct ixgbevf_adapter *adapter)
 static int ixgbevf_acquire_msix_vectors(struct ixgbevf_adapter *adapter,
                                        int vectors)
 {
-       int err = 0;
-       int vector_threshold;
+       int err, vector_threshold;
 
        /* We'll want at least 2 (vector_threshold):
         * 1) TxQ[0] + RxQ[0] handler
@@ -1763,18 +1762,15 @@ static int ixgbevf_acquire_msix_vectors(struct 
ixgbevf_adapter *adapter,
         * Right now, we simply care about how many we'll get; we'll
         * set them up later while requesting irq's.
         */
-       while (vectors >= vector_threshold) {
-               err = pci_enable_msix(adapter->pdev, adapter->msix_entries,
-                                     vectors);
-               if (!err || err < 0) /* Success or a nasty failure. */
-                       break;
-               else /* err == number of vectors we should try again with */
-                       vectors = err;
-       }
+       err = pci_msix_table_size(adapter->pdev);
+       if (err < 0)
+               return err;
 
+       vectors = min(vectors, err);
        if (vectors < vector_threshold)
-               err = -ENOSPC;
+               return -ENOSPC;
 
+       err = pci_enable_msix(adapter->pdev, adapter->msix_entries, vectors);
        if (err) {
                dev_err(&adapter->pdev->dev,
                        "Unable to allocate MSI-X interrupts\n");
-- 
1.7.7.6


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>