linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

[PATCH RFC 10/77] ahci: Check MRSM bit when multiple MSIs enabled

To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH RFC 10/77] ahci: Check MRSM bit when multiple MSIs enabled
From: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
Date: Wed, 2 Oct 2013 12:48:26 +0200
Cc: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>, Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>, Andy King <acking@vmware.com>, Jon Mason <jon.mason@intel.com>, Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux390@de.ibm.com, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, x86@kernel.org, linux-ide@vger.kernel.org, iss_storagedev@hp.com, linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org, linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org, e1000-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, linux-driver@qlogic.com, Solarflare linux maintainers <linux-net-drivers@solarflare.com>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
Do not trust the hardware and always check if MSI
Revert to Single Message mode was enforced. Fall
back to the single MSI mode in case it did. Not
doing so might screw up the interrupt handling.

Signed-off-by: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
---
 drivers/ata/ahci.c |   17 +++++++++++++++++
 drivers/ata/ahci.h |    1 +
 2 files changed, 18 insertions(+), 0 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/ata/ahci.c b/drivers/ata/ahci.c
index f1c8838..3a39cc8 100644
--- a/drivers/ata/ahci.c
+++ b/drivers/ata/ahci.c
@@ -1091,6 +1091,14 @@ static inline void ahci_gtf_filter_workaround(struct 
ata_host *host)
 {}
 #endif
 
+static int ahci_get_mrsm(struct ahci_host_priv *hpriv)
+{
+       void __iomem *mmio = hpriv->mmio;
+       u32 ctl = readl(mmio + HOST_CTL);
+
+       return ctl & HOST_MRSM;
+}
+
 int ahci_init_interrupts(struct pci_dev *pdev, unsigned int n_ports,
                         struct ahci_host_priv *hpriv)
 {
@@ -1116,6 +1124,15 @@ int ahci_init_interrupts(struct pci_dev *pdev, unsigned 
int n_ports,
        if (rc)
                goto intx;
 
+       /*
+        * Fallback to single MSI mode if the controller enforced MRSM mode 
+        */
+       if (ahci_get_mrsm(hpriv)) {
+               pci_disable_msi(pdev);
+               printk(KERN_INFO "ahci: MRSM is on, fallback to single MSI\n");
+               goto single_msi;
+       }
+
        return nvec;
 
 single_msi:
diff --git a/drivers/ata/ahci.h b/drivers/ata/ahci.h
index 1145637..19bc846 100644
--- a/drivers/ata/ahci.h
+++ b/drivers/ata/ahci.h
@@ -91,6 +91,7 @@ enum {
        /* HOST_CTL bits */
        HOST_RESET              = (1 << 0),  /* reset controller; self-clear */
        HOST_IRQ_EN             = (1 << 1),  /* global IRQ enable */
+       HOST_MRSM               = (1 << 2),  /* MSI Revert to Single Message */
        HOST_AHCI_EN            = (1 << 31), /* AHCI enabled */
 
        /* HOST_CAP bits */
-- 
1.7.7.6


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>
  • [PATCH RFC 10/77] ahci: Check MRSM bit when multiple MSIs enabled, Alexander Gordeev <=