linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

[PATCH RFC 50/77] mlx5: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code

To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH RFC 50/77] mlx5: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code
From: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
Date: Wed, 2 Oct 2013 12:49:06 +0200
Cc: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>, Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>, Andy King <acking@vmware.com>, Jon Mason <jon.mason@intel.com>, Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux390@de.ibm.com, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, x86@kernel.org, linux-ide@vger.kernel.org, iss_storagedev@hp.com, linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org, linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org, e1000-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, linux-driver@qlogic.com, Solarflare linux maintainers <linux-net-drivers@solarflare.com>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
As result of recent re-design of the MSI/MSI-X interrupts enabling
pattern this driver has to be updated to use the new technique to
obtain a optimal number of MSI/MSI-X interrupts required.

Signed-off-by: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
---
 drivers/net/ethernet/mellanox/mlx5/core/main.c |   18 +++++++++---------
 1 files changed, 9 insertions(+), 9 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/mellanox/mlx5/core/main.c 
b/drivers/net/ethernet/mellanox/mlx5/core/main.c
index adf0e5d..5c21e50 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/mellanox/mlx5/core/main.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/mellanox/mlx5/core/main.c
@@ -119,8 +119,13 @@ static int mlx5_enable_msix(struct mlx5_core_dev *dev)
        int err;
        int i;
 
+       err = pci_msix_table_size(dev->pdev);
+       if (err < 0)
+               return err;
+
        nvec = dev->caps.num_ports * num_online_cpus() + MLX5_EQ_VEC_COMP_BASE;
        nvec = min_t(int, nvec, num_eqs);
+       nvec = min_t(int, nvec, err);
        if (nvec <= MLX5_EQ_VEC_COMP_BASE)
                return -ENOSPC;
 
@@ -131,20 +136,15 @@ static int mlx5_enable_msix(struct mlx5_core_dev *dev)
        for (i = 0; i < nvec; i++)
                table->msix_arr[i].entry = i;
 
-retry:
-       table->num_comp_vectors = nvec - MLX5_EQ_VEC_COMP_BASE;
        err = pci_enable_msix(dev->pdev, table->msix_arr, nvec);
-       if (err <= 0) {
+       if (err) {
+               kfree(table->msix_arr);
                return err;
-       } else if (err > MLX5_EQ_VEC_COMP_BASE) {
-               nvec = err;
-               goto retry;
        }
 
-       mlx5_core_dbg(dev, "received %d MSI vectors out of %d requested\n", 
err, nvec);
-       kfree(table->msix_arr);
+       table->num_comp_vectors = nvec - MLX5_EQ_VEC_COMP_BASE;
 
-       return -ENOSPC;
+       return 0;
 }
 
 static void mlx5_disable_msix(struct mlx5_core_dev *dev)
-- 
1.7.7.6


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>