linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

[PATCH RFC 42/77] lpfc: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code

To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH RFC 42/77] lpfc: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code
From: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
Date: Wed, 2 Oct 2013 12:48:58 +0200
Cc: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>, Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>, Andy King <acking@vmware.com>, Jon Mason <jon.mason@intel.com>, Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux390@de.ibm.com, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, x86@kernel.org, linux-ide@vger.kernel.org, iss_storagedev@hp.com, linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org, linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org, e1000-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, linux-driver@qlogic.com, Solarflare linux maintainers <linux-net-drivers@solarflare.com>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1380703262.git.agordeev@redhat.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
As result of recent re-design of the MSI/MSI-X interrupts enabling
pattern this driver has to be updated to use the new technique to
obtain a optimal number of MSI/MSI-X interrupts required.

Note, in case just one MSI-X vector was available the
error message "0484 PCI enable MSI-X failed 1" is
preserved to not break tools which might depend on it.

Also, not sure why in case of multiple MSI-Xs mode failed
the driver skips the single MSI-X mode and falls back to
single MSI mode.

Signed-off-by: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@redhat.com>
---
 drivers/scsi/lpfc/lpfc_init.c |   18 +++++++++++-------
 1 files changed, 11 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/scsi/lpfc/lpfc_init.c b/drivers/scsi/lpfc/lpfc_init.c
index 0803b84..d83a1a3 100644
--- a/drivers/scsi/lpfc/lpfc_init.c
+++ b/drivers/scsi/lpfc/lpfc_init.c
@@ -8639,13 +8639,17 @@ lpfc_sli4_enable_msix(struct lpfc_hba *phba)
 
        /* Configure MSI-X capability structure */
        vectors = phba->cfg_fcp_io_channel;
-enable_msix_vectors:
-       rc = pci_enable_msix(phba->pcidev, phba->sli4_hba.msix_entries,
-                            vectors);
-       if (rc > 1) {
-               vectors = rc;
-               goto enable_msix_vectors;
-       } else if (rc) {
+
+       rc = pci_msix_table_size(phba->pcidev);
+       if (rc < 0)
+               goto msg_fail_out;
+
+       vectors = min(vectors, rc);
+       if (vectors > 1)
+               rc = pci_enable_msix(phba->pcidev, phba->sli4_hba.msix_entries,
+                                    vectors);
+       if (rc) {
+msg_fail_out:
                lpfc_printf_log(phba, KERN_INFO, LOG_INIT,
                                "0484 PCI enable MSI-X failed (%d)\n", rc);
                goto vec_fail_out;
-- 
1.7.7.6


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>
  • [PATCH RFC 42/77] lpfc: Update MSI/MSI-X interrupts enablement code, Alexander Gordeev <=