linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [RFC] Get rid of SUBARCH

To: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC] Get rid of SUBARCH
From: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Date: Thu, 22 Aug 2013 14:58:26 +0200
Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>, Linux-Arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>, Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>, Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, "the arch/x86 maintainers" <x86@kernel.org>, linux-kbuild <linux-kbuild@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, linux-m68k <linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org>, Linux MIPS Mailing List <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, Linux-sh list <linux-sh@vger.kernel.org>, uml-devel <user-mode-linux-devel@lists.sourceforge.net>
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=gmail.com; s=20120113; h=mime-version:sender:in-reply-to:references:date:message-id:subject :from:to:cc:content-type; bh=Hd3ZWeSO3/h2wYrAhVkpXIuKn5pyqCiksb9+3plKf+o=; b=WjWO3mG6RO7+QyXfRn4QC/QEW5DDFPdMNhSJnt7auD3AWj53ETCnm6vfJYj5fczMhK VMbyonzUbtrs7vyR5tSoW3ZhI96SsrGvTLciaDfthDWzcJ01ntq06P2FDX9uUSv/ocG0 rx+MnRNfMaKeSgZtvHQWXfZ6rPCCJq+cPI3OPI0zVTaHXy8BqVz2EA312FQzzE1WTd2/ OQNyTXllYF7yeBnGMu6QxZNORe2DkP/v7dxx/T1JxWORKsYTTu0cL5j5xoHHNuvfG9tj F9MRU0RwpNBH0X4Y+uMF8DFXls7Q3e1LcEZe8R4Qpg7W4NtP06Aj7ySE+KoJyyht7054 X5HA==
In-reply-to: <20130821195157.GA18191@merkur.ravnborg.org>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1377073172-3662-1-git-send-email-richard@nod.at> <CAMuHMdWk-EPTNmPB1O1+F7YVQLjhQsFJznYwA3t6UCGUU1T9PQ@mail.gmail.com> <20130821195157.GA18191@merkur.ravnborg.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
On Wed, Aug 21, 2013 at 9:51 PM, Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> wrote:
>> > The series touches also m68k, sh, mips and unicore32.
>> > These architectures magically select a cross compiler if ARCH != SUBARCH.
>> > Do really need that behavior?
>>
>> This does remove functionality.
>> It allows to build a kernel using e.g. "make ARCH=m68k".
>>
>> Perhaps this can be moved to generic code? Most (not all!) cross-toolchains
>> are called $ARCH-{unknown-,}linux{,-gnu}.
>> Exceptions are e.g. am33_2.0-linux and bfin-uclinux.
>
> Today you can specify CROSS_COMPILE in Kconfig.
> With this we should be able to remove these hacks.

The correct CROSS_COMPILE value depends on the host environment, not
on the target configuration.

Gr{oetje,eeting}s,

                        Geert

--
Geert Uytterhoeven -- There's lots of Linux beyond ia32 -- geert@linux-m68k.org

In personal conversations with technical people, I call myself a hacker. But
when I'm talking to journalists I just say "programmer" or something like that.
                                -- Linus Torvalds

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>