linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [RFC] Get rid of SUBARCH

To: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC] Get rid of SUBARCH
From: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Date: Wed, 21 Aug 2013 21:51:57 +0200
Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>, Linux-Arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>, Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>, Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, the arch/x86 maintainers <x86@kernel.org>, linux-kbuild <linux-kbuild@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, linux-m68k <linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org>, Linux MIPS Mailing List <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, Linux-sh list <linux-sh@vger.kernel.org>, uml-devel <user-mode-linux-devel@lists.sourceforge.net>
In-reply-to: <CAMuHMdWk-EPTNmPB1O1+F7YVQLjhQsFJznYwA3t6UCGUU1T9PQ@mail.gmail.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1377073172-3662-1-git-send-email-richard@nod.at> <CAMuHMdWk-EPTNmPB1O1+F7YVQLjhQsFJznYwA3t6UCGUU1T9PQ@mail.gmail.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.18 (2008-05-17)
> 
> > The series touches also m68k, sh, mips and unicore32.
> > These architectures magically select a cross compiler if ARCH != SUBARCH.
> > Do really need that behavior?
> 
> This does remove functionality.
> It allows to build a kernel using e.g. "make ARCH=m68k".
> 
> Perhaps this can be moved to generic code? Most (not all!) cross-toolchains
> are called $ARCH-{unknown-,}linux{,-gnu}.
> Exceptions are e.g. am33_2.0-linux and bfin-uclinux.

Today you can specify CROSS_COMPILE in Kconfig.
With this we should be able to remove these hacks.

        Sam

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>