linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCHv4 03/11] pci: remove ARCH_SUPPORTS_MSI kconfig option

To: Jason Cooper <jason@lakedaemon.net>
Subject: Re: [PATCHv4 03/11] pci: remove ARCH_SUPPORTS_MSI kconfig option
From: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
Date: Sat, 6 Jul 2013 09:40:55 -0600
Cc: Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@free-electrons.com>, Lior Amsalem <alior@marvell.com>, Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>, "linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org" <linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-mips@linux-mips.org" <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, "linux-pci@vger.kernel.org" <linux-pci@vger.kernel.org>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>, Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, "x86@kernel.org" <x86@kernel.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel.garcia@free-electrons.com>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Rob Herring <rob.herring@calxeda.com>, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>, Gregory Clement <gregory.clement@free-electrons.com>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, linux-arm <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Maen Suleiman <maen@marvell.com>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, linuxppc-dev <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=google.com; s=20120113; h=mime-version:in-reply-to:references:from:date:message-id:subject:to :cc:content-type; bh=/uyHRuK5L8fmDukxCJcyPWToHS124B0Q3+hrMl4YGUM=; b=OnAPippALWPuszXthIIJTvFQMyvO9v4N81IgbLwCiEMR4xQdgi/qTaWzhUVS0e+eOT MsR/sUXwoe0f/a3K56nx4vVVBN1PwQgkEn/sLMe83zGjxSlO7wjJBPn9pcnDC282arY5 TA4r2zvnOJEp6IpalnJ5UGws8mOepVtTD6E7zq/DpphJdngpqXFNNLzVm/Bh1jCoVD2I YLpwQoj6zZn6XMIhIEwSWoSGpsN1rShQS9HeJrQil/GbJsZSF3E4Jt1ZURxOt7dMaLom m+kgW+IEbDThdyrgyf4MJCwqLtzD0FdphOyZ9NnEEbbgnFNtyybfqif6ByO7XeqNka7L 918g==
In-reply-to: <20130706135433.GL2569@titan.lakedaemon.net>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1372686136-1370-1-git-send-email-thomas.petazzoni@free-electrons.com> <1372686136-1370-4-git-send-email-thomas.petazzoni@free-electrons.com> <CAErSpo73iSBg+SYwZLea0qdXD1uVc3+Vacd8Tg4CU92vLG=2AQ@mail.gmail.com> <20130705234501.1341f52e@skate> <20130706135433.GL2569@titan.lakedaemon.net>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
On Sat, Jul 6, 2013 at 7:54 AM, Jason Cooper <jason@lakedaemon.net> wrote:
> On Fri, Jul 05, 2013 at 11:45:01PM +0200, Thomas Petazzoni wrote:
>> Dear Bjorn Helgaas,
>>
>> On Fri, 5 Jul 2013 15:37:33 -0600, Bjorn Helgaas wrote:
>>
>> > Acked-by: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
>> >
>> > Again, please update the subject line to "PCI: Remove ..."
>> >
>> > I doubt that you'll get explicit acks from all the arches you touched,
>> > but I think it's reasonable to put at least patches 2 & 3 in -next
>> > soon after v3.11-rc1, so we should have time to shake out issues.
>>
>> Sure. Which merge strategy do you suggest for this patch series, which
>> touches a number of different areas, and has some build-time
>> dependencies between the patches (if needed, I can detail those build
>> time dependencies to help figuring out the best strategy).
>
> If we end up handling this the same as the of/pci & mvebu-pcie series
> (whole series through mvebu -> arm-soc) I can have it up in -next within
> a few days of -rc1.  Just let me know.

That sounds fine with me.  I don't think it's worth trying to split
out the drivers/pci stuff and trying to coordinate it going through
different trees.

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>