linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCHv4 02/11] pci: use weak functions for MSI arch-specific functi

To: Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@free-electrons.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCHv4 02/11] pci: use weak functions for MSI arch-specific functions
From: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
Date: Tue, 2 Jul 2013 11:14:01 -0600
Cc: Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au>, "linux-pci@vger.kernel.org" <linux-pci@vger.kernel.org>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>, Rob Herring <rob.herring@calxeda.com>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Jason Cooper <jason@lakedaemon.net>, Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>, Gregory Clement <gregory.clement@free-electrons.com>, Lior Amsalem <alior@marvell.com>, "linux-mips@linux-mips.org" <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, "linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org" <linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, "x86@kernel.org" <x86@kernel.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel.garcia@free-electrons.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>, linux-arm <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Maen Suleiman <maen@marvell.com>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, linuxppc-dev <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=google.com; s=20120113; h=mime-version:in-reply-to:references:from:date:message-id:subject:to :cc:content-type; bh=xF+DXO4KSbCkA4lU7sHkBVhSf2mVUPKtorHqZnZNSCg=; b=aX4REXTaYidDZyLoDI0LFita4FddxeIYey/UtGGZWqRcFQuMQvfow6fsCU6JkTWHRf Kpaa4O/SFWfLCitOSp42zB1KO2bvfmq7dwUuGHRbh8VBRplI80w3OG6J0K8Om4lpw+z9 frG/lbH2CSOwJ7p2Vtl541O6if2IyqObH5lU8AxDwdaMDkIC2wFKFJDtR9+FCoPTCBUK IHWGeHBayOP3fGtF82fUPj/oxno3Jeu7dWLAIlEiVYgME5yKpLmKeqDtwhhE+uUD1lyN XqhJFgClP0GaBLYeZj/InEetvV8UVrRRQqKN4QB5fVzFmyZOHmWjB7O1h8sS5e5uBB23 M13A==
In-reply-to: <20130702073037.55a53642@skate>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1372686136-1370-1-git-send-email-thomas.petazzoni@free-electrons.com> <1372686136-1370-3-git-send-email-thomas.petazzoni@free-electrons.com> <1372726396.17904.1.camel@concordia> <20130702073037.55a53642@skate>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
On Mon, Jul 1, 2013 at 11:30 PM, Thomas Petazzoni
<thomas.petazzoni@free-electrons.com> wrote:
> Dear Michael Ellerman,
>
> On Tue, 02 Jul 2013 10:53:16 +1000, Michael Ellerman wrote:
>> On Mon, 2013-07-01 at 15:42 +0200, Thomas Petazzoni wrote:
>> > Until now, the MSI architecture-specific functions could be overloaded
>> > using a fairly complex set of #define and compile-time
>> > conditionals. In order to prepare for the introduction of the msi_chip
>> > infrastructure, it is desirable to switch all those functions to use
>> > the 'weak' mechanism. This commit converts all the architectures that
>> > were overidding those MSI functions to use the new strategy.
>>
>> The MSI code used to use weak functions, until we discovered they were
>> being miscompiled on some toolchains (11df1f0). I assume these days
>> we're confident they work correctly.
>
> Hum, interesting. I see from your commit that gcc 4.3.2 was apparently
> affected, and gcc 4.3.x is not /that/ old. Bjorn, what's your point of
> view on this?

There *were* compilation issues with weak functions, but AFAIK they've
been resolved and there's no reason to avoid them.  Commit f9d142500
addressed this.

Bjorn

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>