linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH] of: Specify initrd location using 64-bit

To: Santosh Shilimkar <santosh.shilimkar@ti.com>, Rob Herring <robherring2@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] of: Specify initrd location using 64-bit
From: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Date: Sat, 29 Jun 2013 10:34:27 +0200
Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de>, Jean-Christophe PLAGNIOL-VILLARD <plagnioj@jcrosoft.com>, Grant Likely <grant.likely@linaro.org>, Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@linaro.org>, linux-mips <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, Aurelien Jacquiot <a-jacquiot@ti.com>, Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>, Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>, Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, linux-c6x-dev@linux-c6x.org, "the arch/x86 maintainers" <x86@kernel.org>, "arm@kernel.org" <arm@kernel.org>, linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org, James Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com>, devicetree-discuss <devicetree-discuss@lists.ozlabs.org>, Rob Herring <rob.herring@calxeda.com>, "linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org" <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>, Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, "linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org" <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=gmail.com; s=20120113; h=mime-version:sender:in-reply-to:references:date :x-google-sender-auth:message-id:subject:from:to:cc:content-type; bh=2QSERyhtTKvn9XMk9XlJcLdFX/joSK4ci1iomfcF7Co=; b=WRLjM2MxVmZ6S060afRm0i0/moc7uXABb47U/3iwL1I6m1OM9StIUNH2PKgBTpKg/8 GbuX/zOO/Gvlq/JNL9isbTzOpzF6pBUtqHKQfsngutUie61kc1xqtTo02Kn9gTekbVPH cVlAq+pR4OwE0M/EGR04zzU3XDYEW9cuvYGP08rjIYY4MziH5ovqVhU/8J1nfFH9P7rE RE3hD5NnJnBCYGZNciTQ+nucGK3j3LmvSSxg7LdQttLeGz6Go+lf8edZJTVrveIb8CKP VPp2UEr/eERfUlLQv4HqR+FRraPQd5X8KPgcFkpsTFtiDRxcMF7TdrNV5pa//we3k2sJ 9NLw==
In-reply-to: <51CE1F92.3070802@ti.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1371775956-16453-1-git-send-email-santosh.shilimkar@ti.com> <51C4171C.9050908@linutronix.de> <51C48B5A.2040404@ti.com> <51CCA67C.2010803@gmail.com> <CACxGe6vOH0sCFVVXrYqD3dbYdOvithVu7-d1cvy5885i8x_Myw@mail.gmail.com> <20130628134931.GD21034@game.jcrosoft.org> <51CE1F92.3070802@ti.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
On Sat, Jun 29, 2013 at 1:43 AM, Santosh Shilimkar
<santosh.shilimkar@ti.com> wrote:
>>>>> Rob,
>>>>> Are you ok with phys_addr_t since your concern was about rest
>>>>> of the memory specific bits of the device-tree code use u64 ?
>>>>
>>>> No. I still think it should be u64 for same reasons I said originally.
>>>
>>> +1
>>>
>> +1
>>
>> fix type
>>
> Apart from waste of 32bit, what is the other concern you
> have ? I really want to converge on this patch because it
> has been a open ended discussion for quite some time. Does
> that really break any thing on x86 or your concern is more
> from semantics of the physical address.

As the "original reasons" were not in this thread, I had to search a bit.
I suppose you mean this one: https://lkml.org/lkml/2012/9/13/544 ?

Summarized:
| The address to load the initrd is decided by the bootloader/user and set
| at that point later in time.
| The dtb should not be tied to the kernel you are booting.

Gr{oetje,eeting}s,

                        Geert

--
Geert Uytterhoeven -- There's lots of Linux beyond ia32 -- geert@linux-m68k.org

In personal conversations with technical people, I call myself a hacker. But
when I'm talking to journalists I just say "programmer" or something like that.
                                -- Linus Torvalds

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>