linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH v3] kernel/signal.c: fix BUG_ON with SIG128 (MIPS)

To: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3] kernel/signal.c: fix BUG_ON with SIG128 (MIPS)
From: Denys Vlasenko <vda.linux@googlemail.com>
Date: Fri, 28 Jun 2013 22:09:21 +0200
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>, James Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, David Daney <ddaney@caviumnetworks.com>, David Daney <ddaney.cavm@gmail.com>, LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>, Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>, David Daney <david.daney@cavium.com>, "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>, David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>, Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, stable@vger.kernel.org
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=googlemail.com; s=20120113; h=from:to:subject:date:user-agent:cc:references:in-reply-to :mime-version:content-type:content-transfer-encoding :content-disposition:message-id; bh=SZR8wzkSG7wMox+TH3G6n9r2clYZ6Z353+d1THPnVgw=; b=qhW6Yr6K4jcsOHQkXAyGdWhSUOaiQNmRyvsXKNEWd20c6XbMN60MKOdcUrlNcg3qpM lkGoU3X926j0A2lTZ+KZmzkqLLTVdVNnk4igG+ESVlNTtiCF2WBjuD/3QSVrUuaUoNmH PCD2vTTnH/F07K+xaKNc7kp6ZrFuxVE+cxgxC//YxTMevSBrkueO1vwOCOSmV8+kNjbF JyoTNWzCJQiAiaWmgHbFEwAO9KScBfrAlwjDhxZ9aLjkPfkqiOmp9Bx7myCmBHwIiEbO 5gn9gBlxF6MeUO445+UffGcPvvbUlE6w9aFLkNqus3Fmkt8BTeL9b9gZ1uVRucIorBZO CS2w==
In-reply-to: <20130626165900.GF7171@linux-mips.org>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1371821962-9151-1-git-send-email-james.hogan@imgtec.com> <20130626161452.GA2888@redhat.com> <20130626165900.GF7171@linux-mips.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: KMail/1.8.2
On Wednesday 26 June 2013 18:59, Ralf Baechle wrote:
> On Wed, Jun 26, 2013 at 06:14:52PM +0200, Oleg Nesterov wrote:
> 
> > Or simply remove the BUG_ON(), this can equally confuse wait(status).
> > 128 & 0x7f == 0.
> > 
> > Still I think it would be better to change _NSIG on mips.
> 
> If it was that easy.  That's going to outright break binary compatibility,
> see kernel/signal.c:
> 
> SYSCALL_DEFINE4(rt_sigprocmask, int, how, sigset_t __user *, nset,
>                 sigset_t __user *, oset, size_t, sigsetsize)
> {
>         sigset_t old_set, new_set;
>         int error;
> 
>         /* XXX: Don't preclude handling different sized sigset_t's.  */
>         if (sigsetsize != sizeof(sigset_t))
>                 return -EINVAL;
> 
> There are several more more syscalls performing tests like the above.

Reducing _NSIG to 127 (or 126) doesn't change sigset_t, so should be fine wrt 
above.

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>