linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 0/5] MIPS/tty/8250: Use standard 8250 drivers for OCTEON

To: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/5] MIPS/tty/8250: Use standard 8250 drivers for OCTEON
From: David Daney <ddaney@caviumnetworks.com>
Date: Tue, 18 Jun 2013 12:59:28 -0700
Cc: David Daney <ddaney.cavm@gmail.com>, <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, "Jamie Iles" <jamie@jamieiles.com>, Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>, Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>, <linux-serial@vger.kernel.org>, <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, David Daney <david.daney@cavium.com>
In-reply-to: <20130618193618.GA1401@linux-mips.org>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1371582775-12141-1-git-send-email-ddaney.cavm@gmail.com> <20130618193618.GA1401@linux-mips.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:17.0) Gecko/20130514 Thunderbird/17.0.6
On 06/18/2013 12:36 PM, Ralf Baechle wrote:
On Tue, Jun 18, 2013 at 12:12:50PM -0700, David Daney wrote:

From: David Daney <david.daney@cavium.com>

Get rid of the custom OCTEON UART probe code and use 8250_dw instead.

The first patch just gets rid of Ralf's Kconfig workarounds for the
real problem, which is OCTEON's inclomplete serial support.

Then we just make minor patches to 8250_dw, and rip out all this
OCTEON code.

Since the patches are all interdependent, we might want to merge them
via a single tree (perhaps Ralf's MIPS tree).

Looks good - I was trying to come up with a kludge good enough for 3.10;
this may be a bit too large ...


At this point I think it is fine if some random configs for OCTEON fail to build in v3.10.

I was thinking that this would be for 3.11


David Daney


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>