linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 00/31] KVM/MIPS: Implement hardware virtualization via the MI

To: "Maciej W. Rozycki" <macro@linux-mips.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 00/31] KVM/MIPS: Implement hardware virtualization via the MIPS-VZ extensions.
From: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Date: Mon, 10 Jun 2013 13:16:42 +0200
Cc: David Daney <david.s.daney@gmail.com>, Gleb Natapov <gleb@redhat.com>, David Daney <ddaney@caviumnetworks.com>, David Daney <ddaney.cavm@gmail.com>, kvm@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, Sanjay Lal <sanjayl@kymasys.com>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, David Daney <david.daney@cavium.com>
In-reply-to: <alpine.LFD.2.03.1306100030210.18329@linux-mips.org>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1370646215-6543-1-git-send-email-ddaney.cavm@gmail.com> <51B26974.5000306@caviumnetworks.com> <20130609073115.GE4725@redhat.com> <51B50E87.2060501@gmail.com> <alpine.LFD.2.03.1306100030210.18329@linux-mips.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
On Mon, Jun 10, 2013 at 12:40:42AM +0100, Maciej W. Rozycki wrote:

> > >   How different MIPS SMP systems are?
> > 
> > o Old SGI heavy metal (several different system architectures).
> > 
> > o Cavium OCTEON SMP SoCs.
> > 
> > o Broadcom (several flavors) SoCs
> > 
> > o Loongson
> 
> o Old DEC hardware (DECsystem 58x0, R3000-based).
> 
> o Malta-based MIPS Technologies CMP solutions (1004K, 1074K, interAptiv).

And more.  It's fairly accurate that MIPS SMP system tend to have little
of their system architecture in common beyond the underlying processor
architecture and everything else should be treated as a lucky coincidence.

  Ralf

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>