linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 0/6] Convert JZ4740 to dmaengine

To: Lars-Peter Clausen <lars@metafoo.de>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/6] Convert JZ4740 to dmaengine
From: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Date: Wed, 29 May 2013 11:31:03 +0200
Cc: Vinod Koul <vinod.koul@intel.com>, Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>, Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>, Maarten ter Huurne <maarten@treewalker.org>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, alsa-devel@alsa-project.org
In-reply-to: <1369341387-19147-1-git-send-email-lars@metafoo.de>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1369341387-19147-1-git-send-email-lars@metafoo.de>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
On Thu, May 23, 2013 at 10:36:21PM +0200, Lars-Peter Clausen wrote:

> done in 3 steps:
>       1) Add a dmaengine driver which wraps the custom JZ4740 DMA API
>       2) Update all users of the JZ4740 DMA API to use dmaengine instead
>       3) Remove the custom API and move all direct hardware access to the
>          dmaengine driver.
> 
> The first two patches in the series also make sure that the clock of the DMA
> core is enabled.
> 
> Since the patches in this series depend on each other I'd prefer if they could
> all go through the DMA tree.

No problem - though my experience is that code for MIPS systems, including
drivers receives most testing if it lives in the MIPS git tree, less in
linux-next and barely any in in other subsystem-specific trees.

Acked-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>

  Ralf

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>