linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH v5 0/6] mips/kvm: Fix ABI for compatibility with 64-bit guest

To: Gleb Natapov <gleb@redhat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 0/6] mips/kvm: Fix ABI for compatibility with 64-bit guests.
From: David Daney <ddaney@caviumnetworks.com>
Date: Thu, 23 May 2013 09:58:00 -0700
Cc: David Daney <ddaney.cavm@gmail.com>, <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, <ralf@linux-mips.org>, <kvm@vger.kernel.org>, Sanjay Lal <sanjayl@kymasys.com>, <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, David Daney <david.daney@cavium.com>
In-reply-to: <20130523102834.GN4725@redhat.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1369248236-27237-1-git-send-email-ddaney.cavm@gmail.com> <20130523102834.GN4725@redhat.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:17.0) Gecko/20130311 Thunderbird/17.0.4
On 05/23/2013 03:28 AM, Gleb Natapov wrote:
On Wed, May 22, 2013 at 11:43:50AM -0700, David Daney wrote:
From: David Daney <david.daney@cavium.com>

Please regenerate against master. arch/mips/include/asm/kvm.h does not
exists any more.

New patch sent. I gather from this message, that you want to merge this particular set via your tree instead of Ralf's MIPS tree. That's fine with me. However, we were hoping to have these ABI fixing patches pushed to Linus before 3.10 releases, so that there don't exist kernel versions with the defective ABI.

Future patch sets may affect core MIPS architecture files, and therefore may not be so amenable to merging via the KVM tree. We will have to figure out how to handle that.

David Daney




<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>