linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [GIT PULL] x86/mm changes for v3.9-rc1

To: Stefano Stabellini <stefano.stabellini@eu.citrix.com>
Subject: Re: [GIT PULL] x86/mm changes for v3.9-rc1
From: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Date: Fri, 22 Feb 2013 10:22:59 -0800
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@linux.intel.com>, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@sisk.pl>, "stable@vger.kernel.org" <stable@vger.kernel.org>, Alexander Duyck <alexander.h.duyck@intel.com>, Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, Andrzej Pietrasiewicz <andrzej.p@samsung.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>, Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>, Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>, Daniel J Blueman <daniel@numascale-asia.com>, Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com>, Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>, Gleb Natapov <gleb@redhat.com>, Gokul Caushik <caushik1@gmail.com>, "H. J. Lu" <hjl.tools@gmail.com>, Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>, Jacob Shin <jacob.shin@amd.com>, Jamie Lokier <jamie@shareable.org>, Jarkko Sakkinen <jarkko.sakkinen@intel.com>, Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>, Joe Millenbach <jmillenbach@gmail.com>, Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>, Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>, Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>, Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com>, Lee Schermerhorn <Lee.Schermerhorn@hp.com>, Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>, Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, Marcelo Tosatti <mtosatti@redhat.com>, Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>, Matt Fleming <matt.fleming@intel.com>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>, Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>, Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>, Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>, Rob Landley <rob@landley.net>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>, Shuah Khan <shuah.khan@hp.com>, Shuah Khan <shuahkhan@gmail.com>, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ville Syrjälä <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>, Yasuaki Ishimatsu <isimatu.yasuaki@jp.fujitsu.com>, Zachary Amsden <zamsden@gmail.com>, "avi@redhat.com" <avi@redhat.com>, "linux-mips@linux-mips.org" <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, "linux-pm@vger.kernel.org" <linux-pm@vger.kernel.org>, "mst@redhat.com" <mst@redhat.com>, "sparclinux@vger.kernel.org" <sparclinux@vger.kernel.org>, "virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org" <virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org>, "xen-devel@lists.xensource.com" <xen-devel@lists.xensource.com>
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=gmail.com; s=20120113; h=mime-version:x-received:sender:in-reply-to:references:date :x-google-sender-auth:message-id:subject:from:to:cc:content-type; bh=eawHSTBHCwjL2bRkJUFYFi1yDzmmlhlZR4+sK0dg5So=; b=GlP0/wJrAcIExv+bUMErz+l/wB39q9/qwScD0qOtLtJ7+l37Y2jM1eeMcyfdxPygnA /HBRB2eKwVJXggk5wPs4wugdvciOfBAbf75fZuMDTurbFDfZSjbQPzW4i27yGUqqAYDB yTQONC5plr4vYPhVf+qLfNasfcijDYp7kjGyD1+eitwxU44t523zjfVzNTHuTX7DM2ye B/fMPSBAnoYhnj0ImcC0YUr0aKl/vNNuslANNiD1SLKizl3T7a1RZ/V2vRhGHZykbZ+X oRmjF4xyCzU1Tk9oqVfzK4NnlvFAnhGDyvMLW8+BJnGOA9/53IrHAK/MySSNnQm5Sim+ 6KYA==
In-reply-to: <alpine.DEB.2.02.1302221804340.22997@kaball.uk.xensource.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
References: <201302220034.r1M0Y6O8008311@terminus.zytor.com> <20130222165531.GA29308@phenom.dumpdata.com> <5127A719.3060702@zytor.com> <20130222173805.GC7768@phenom.dumpdata.com> <alpine.DEB.2.02.1302221804340.22997@kaball.uk.xensource.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
On Fri, Feb 22, 2013 at 10:06 AM, Stefano Stabellini
<stefano.stabellini@eu.citrix.com> wrote:
> On Fri, 22 Feb 2013, Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk wrote:
>> On Fri, Feb 22, 2013 at 09:12:57AM -0800, H. Peter Anvin wrote:
>> > On 02/22/2013 08:55 AM, Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk wrote:
>> > >
>> > >What is bizzare is that I do recall testing this (and Stefano also did 
>> > >it).
>> > >So I am not sure what has altered.
>> > >
>> >
>> > Yes, there was a very specific reason why I wanted you guys to test it...
>>
>> Exactly. And I re-ran the same test, but with a new kernel. This is what
>> git reflog tells me:
>>
>> 473cd24 HEAD@{75}: checkout: moving from 
>> 08f321ed97353cf3b3fafa6b1c1971d6a8970830 to linux-next
>> 08f321e HEAD@{76}: checkout: moving from linux-next to yinghai/for-x86-mm
>> eb827a7 HEAD@{77}: checkout: moving from 
>> 1b66ccf15ff4bd0200567e8d70446a8763f96ee7 to linux-next
>> [konrad@build linux]$ git show 08f321e
>> commit 08f321ed97353cf3b3fafa6b1c1971d6a8970830
>> Author: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
>> Date:   Thu Nov 8 00:00:19 2012 -0800
>>
>>     mm: Kill NO_BOOTMEM version free_all_bootmem_node()
>>
>> And I recall Stefano later on testing (I was in a conference and did not have
>> the opportunity to test it). Not sure what he ran with.
>>
>
> FYI the last patch series I tested was Yinghai's "x86, boot, 64bit: Add
> support for loading ramdisk and bzImage above 4G" v7u1.


the one in tip and linus's tree is
---
-v7u2: update changelog and comments, and clear more fields for sentinel.
     Update swiotlb autoswitch off patch.
     Fix crash with xen PV guest with 2G.
---

and it fixes xen crash that you reported with v7u1, and you tested
that add-on patch
fix_xen_2g.patch with v7u1.
and I fold the addon patch into offending patch in v7u2.


Thanks

Yinghai

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>