linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 09/16] mm: use vm_unmapped_area() in hugetlbfs on i386 archit

To: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 09/16] mm: use vm_unmapped_area() in hugetlbfs on i386 architecture
From: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Date: Tue, 06 Nov 2012 17:48:05 -0500
Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>, Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>, x86@kernel.org, William Irwin <wli@holomorphy.com>, linux-mm@kvack.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <20121106143826.dc3b960c.akpm@linux-foundation.org>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
References: <1352155633-8648-1-git-send-email-walken@google.com> <1352155633-8648-10-git-send-email-walken@google.com> <20121106143826.dc3b960c.akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:16.0) Gecko/20121009 Thunderbird/16.0
On 11/06/2012 05:38 PM, Andrew Morton wrote:
On Mon,  5 Nov 2012 14:47:06 -0800
Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com> wrote:

Update the i386 hugetlb_get_unmapped_area function to make use of
vm_unmapped_area() instead of implementing a brute force search.

The x86_64 coloring "fix" wasn't copied into i386?

Only certain 64 bit AMD CPUs have that issue at all.

On x86, page coloring is really not much of an issue.

All the x86-64 patch does is make the x86-64 page
coloring code behave the same way page coloring
does on MIPS, SPARC, ARM, PA-RISC and others...

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>