linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 2/2] PCI: Provide a default pcibios_update_irq()

To: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/2] PCI: Provide a default pcibios_update_irq()
From: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@avionic-design.de>
Date: Sun, 16 Sep 2012 08:50:38 +0200
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>, Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, x86@kernel.org, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <CAErSpo6WaFv=CXtiWeDDvThjZRBRJKfJMgovuMjjZRpQGK-WJA@mail.gmail.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
References: <1347655456-2542-1-git-send-email-thierry.reding@avionic-design.de> <1347655456-2542-2-git-send-email-thierry.reding@avionic-design.de> <CAMuHMdWuR_tdMw9iVkaQ3D9p1HVU_L05ap=MzBuo1jLD6YdHHw@mail.gmail.com> <20120915075301.GA31044@avionic-0098.mockup.avionic-design.de> <CAErSpo6WaFv=CXtiWeDDvThjZRBRJKfJMgovuMjjZRpQGK-WJA@mail.gmail.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
On Sat, Sep 15, 2012 at 04:23:33PM -0600, Bjorn Helgaas wrote:
> On Sat, Sep 15, 2012 at 1:53 AM, Thierry Reding
> <thierry.reding@avionic-design.de> wrote:
> > On Sat, Sep 15, 2012 at 09:32:10AM +0200, Geert Uytterhoeven wrote:
> >> On Fri, Sep 14, 2012 at 10:44 PM, Thierry Reding
> >> <thierry.reding@avionic-design.de> wrote:
> >> > --- a/drivers/pci/setup-irq.c
> >> > +++ b/drivers/pci/setup-irq.c
> >> > @@ -17,6 +17,14 @@
> >> >  #include <linux/ioport.h>
> >> >  #include <linux/cache.h>
> >> >
> >> > +void __devinit __weak pcibios_update_irq(struct pci_dev *dev, int irq)
> >> > +{
> >> > +#ifdef CONFIG_PCI_DEBUG
> >> > +       printk(KERN_DEBUG "PCI: Assigning IRQ %02d to %s\n", irq,
> >> > +              pci_name(dev));
> >>
> >> pr_debug()?
> >> Or even better, dev_dbg()?
> >
> > The problem with pr_debug() and dev_dbg() is that they will be compiled
> > out if DEBUG is not defined. Perhaps we should pass -DDEBUG if PCI_DEBUG
> > is configured and make this dev_dbg()?
> 
> Sorry, fat-fingered the previous empty response.
> 
> We already have this in drivers/pci/Makefile:
> 
>     ccflags-$(CONFIG_PCI_DEBUG) := -DDEBUG
> 
> so dev_dbg() should be perfect.

Yeah, this occurred to me as well and I was just about to look it up
when I read your response. I'll make it dev_dbg() then.

Thierry

Attachment: pgpeTuXLEYMiu.pgp
Description: PGP signature

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>