linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 1/2] PCI: Annotate pci_fixup_irqs with __devinit

To: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/2] PCI: Annotate pci_fixup_irqs with __devinit
From: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@avionic-design.de>
Date: Sat, 15 Sep 2012 09:57:37 +0200
Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>, Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, x86@kernel.org, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <20120914223531.GA8771@kroah.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
References: <1347655456-2542-1-git-send-email-thierry.reding@avionic-design.de> <CAErSpo6BqPUEpMmh2+FuEi-mHFK0U1XCmdCpJfo6V2XcNxzMNg@mail.gmail.com> <20120914223531.GA8771@kroah.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
On Fri, Sep 14, 2012 at 03:35:31PM -0700, Greg Kroah-Hartman wrote:
> On Fri, Sep 14, 2012 at 02:53:11PM -0600, Bjorn Helgaas wrote:
> > +cc Greg KH
> > 
> > On Fri, Sep 14, 2012 at 2:44 PM, Thierry Reding
> > <thierry.reding@avionic-design.de> wrote:
> > > In order to keep pci_fixup_irqs() around after init (e.g. for hotplug),
> > > mark it __devinit instead of __init. This requires the same change for
> > > the implementation of the pcibios_update_irq() function on all
> > > architectures.
> > >
> > > Signed-off-by: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@avionic-design.de>
> > > ---
> > > Note: Ideally these annotations should go away completely in order to
> > > be independent of the HOTPLUG symbol. However, there is work underway
> > > to get rid of HOTPLUG altogether, so I've kept the __devinit for now.
> 
> No, just take away the __init marking completly.  For 3.7,
> CONFIG_HOTPLUG will always be enabled, making it be the same thing.
> That way this saves me the time and energy from deleting the __devinit
> markings when I get to that point in the patch series :)

Done. I'll give other people some time to comment before sending the
updated series.

Thierry

Attachment: pgp0hHN4iE0OC.pgp
Description: PGP signature

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>