linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

[PATCH v2 2/6] mm: make clear_huge_page tolerate non aligned address

To: linux-mm@kvack.org
Subject: [PATCH v2 2/6] mm: make clear_huge_page tolerate non aligned address
From: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Date: Thu, 9 Aug 2012 18:02:59 +0300
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, x86@kernel.org, Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>, "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>, Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>, Alex Shi <alex.shu@intel.com>, Jan Beulich <jbeulich@novell.com>, Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>, Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>, Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>, Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>, KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <1344524583-1096-1-git-send-email-kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
List-archive: <http://www.linux-mips.org/archives/linux-mips/>
List-help: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?Subject=help>
List-id: linux-mips <linux-mips.eddie.linux-mips.org>
List-owner: <mailto:ralf@linux-mips.org>
List-post: <mailto:linux-mips@linux-mips.org>
List-software: Ecartis version 1.0.0
List-subscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=subscribe%20linux-mips>
List-unsubscribe: <mailto:ecartis@linux-mips.org?subject=unsubscribe%20linux-mips>
References: <1344524583-1096-1-git-send-email-kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
From: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>

hugetlb does not necessarily pass in an aligned address, so the
low level address computation is wrong.

This will fix architectures that actually use the address for flushing
the cleared address (very few, like xtensa/sparc/...?)

Signed-off-by: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
---
 mm/memory.c |    5 +++--
 1 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/mm/memory.c b/mm/memory.c
index 5736170..b47199a 100644
--- a/mm/memory.c
+++ b/mm/memory.c
@@ -3987,16 +3987,17 @@ void clear_huge_page(struct page *page,
                     unsigned long addr, unsigned int pages_per_huge_page)
 {
        int i;
+       unsigned long haddr = addr & HPAGE_PMD_MASK;
 
        if (unlikely(pages_per_huge_page > MAX_ORDER_NR_PAGES)) {
-               clear_gigantic_page(page, addr, pages_per_huge_page);
+               clear_gigantic_page(page, haddr, pages_per_huge_page);
                return;
        }
 
        might_sleep();
        for (i = 0; i < pages_per_huge_page; i++) {
                cond_resched();
-               clear_user_highpage(page + i, addr + i * PAGE_SIZE);
+               clear_user_highpage(page + i, haddr + i * PAGE_SIZE);
        }
 }
 
-- 
1.7.7.6


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>