linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH v1 1/5] scripts: Add sortextable to sort the kernel's

To: David Daney <ddaney.cavm@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1 1/5] scripts: Add sortextable to sort the kernel's exception table.
From: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Date: Fri, 20 Apr 2012 16:59:20 +0200
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, x86@kernel.org, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>, Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, David Daney <david.daney@cavium.com>
In-reply-to: <1334872799-14589-2-git-send-email-ddaney.cavm@gmail.com>
References: <1334872799-14589-1-git-send-email-ddaney.cavm@gmail.com> <1334872799-14589-2-git-send-email-ddaney.cavm@gmail.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.18 (2008-05-17)
On Thu, Apr 19, 2012 at 02:59:55PM -0700, David Daney wrote:
> From: David Daney <david.daney@cavium.com>
> 
> Using this build-time sort saves time booting as we don't have to burn
> cycles sorting the exception table.
> 
> Signed-off-by: David Daney <david.daney@cavium.com>
> ---
>  scripts/.gitignore    |    1 +
>  scripts/Makefile      |    1 +
>  scripts/sortextable.c |  273 
> +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
>  scripts/sortextable.h |  168 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

If there is only a single file including the .h file - then there is no gain.
Just fold it into the .c file.


        Sam

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>