linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH v1 1/5] scripts: Add sortextable to sort the kernel's excepti

To: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1 1/5] scripts: Add sortextable to sort the kernel's exception table.
From: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Date: Thu, 19 Apr 2012 21:54:49 -0700
Cc: David Daney <david.s.daney@gmail.com>, David Daney <ddaney.cavm@gmail.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, x86@kernel.org, Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, David Daney <david.daney@cavium.com>
In-reply-to: <4F90EAC1.6070508@zytor.com>
References: <1334872799-14589-1-git-send-email-ddaney.cavm@gmail.com> <1334872799-14589-2-git-send-email-ddaney.cavm@gmail.com> <4F90BF8D.7030209@zytor.com> <4F90D564.3090508@gmail.com> <CA+55aFyijf43qSu3N9nWHEBwaGbb7T2Oq9A=9EyR=Jtyqfq_cQ@mail.gmail.com> <4F90DB37.9080702@zytor.com> <4F90EAC1.6070508@zytor.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:11.0) Gecko/20120329 Thunderbird/11.0.1
On 04/19/2012 09:49 PM, H. Peter Anvin wrote:
> 
> Ah, apparently it is possible to generate relocations relative to the
> start of the current section.
> 

Nevermind... I'm wrong.  The assembler will generate them but the linker
will produce garbage.

So I think using PC-relative relocations and have the postprocessor (or
the sort in the module loader) convert them to section-relative makes
sense...

        -hpa

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>