linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 1/5] i2c: Convert i2c-octeon.c to use device tree.

To: David Daney <david.daney@cavium.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/5] i2c: Convert i2c-octeon.c to use device tree.
From: Wolfram Sang <w.sang@pengutronix.de>
Date: Wed, 18 Apr 2012 17:16:21 +0200
Cc: Rob Herring <robherring2@gmail.com>, David Daney <ddaney.cavm@gmail.com>, "linux-mips@linux-mips.org" <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, "ralf@linux-mips.org" <ralf@linux-mips.org>, "devicetree-discuss@lists.ozlabs.org" <devicetree-discuss@lists.ozlabs.org>, Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>, Rob Herring <rob.herring@calxeda.com>, "linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-i2c@vger.kernel.org" <linux-i2c@vger.kernel.org>, "Ben Dooks (embedded platforms)" <ben-linux@fluff.org>, "Jean Delvare (PC drivers, core)" <khali@linux-fr.org>
In-reply-to: <4F7117FD.7000700@cavium.com>
References: <1332808075-8333-1-git-send-email-ddaney.cavm@gmail.com> <1332808075-8333-2-git-send-email-ddaney.cavm@gmail.com> <4F7115FA.6080507@gmail.com> <4F7117FD.7000700@cavium.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
> >>-   if (i2c_data == NULL) {
> >>-           dev_err(i2c->dev, "no I2C frequency data\n");
> >>+   /*
> >>+    * "clock-rate" is a legacy binding, the official binding is
> >>+    * "clock-frequency".  Try the official one first and then
> >>+    * fall back if it doesn't exist.
> >>+    */
> >>+   data = of_get_property(pdev->dev.of_node, "clock-frequency",&len);
> >>+   if (!data || len != sizeof(*data))
> >>+           data = of_get_property(pdev->dev.of_node, "clock-rate",&len);
> >>+   if (data&&  len == sizeof(*data)) {
> >>+           i2c->twsi_freq = be32_to_cpup(data);
> >
> >Can't you use of_property_read_u32?
> 
> I will investigate, and use it if possible.

Any outcome?

And shouldn't the bindings be documented? Or are they only standard and
we hide the legacy one?

Regards,

   Wolfram

-- 
Pengutronix e.K.                           | Wolfram Sang                |
Industrial Linux Solutions                 | http://www.pengutronix.de/  |

Attachment: signature.asc
Description: Digital signature

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>