linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

[PATCH 00/17] mark const init data with __initconst instead of __initdat

To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Subject: [PATCH 00/17] mark const init data with __initconst instead of __initdata
From: Uwe Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
Date: Thu, 29 Mar 2012 23:11:31 +0200
Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>, Anatolij Gustschin <agust@denx.de>, Andreas Koensgen <ajk@comnets.uni-bremen.de>, Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>, Andrew Victor <linux@maxim.org.za>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, Barry Song <baohua.song@csr.com>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Bryan Huntsman <bryanh@codeaurora.org>, cbe-oss-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org>, Daniel Walker <dwalker@fifo99.com>, David Brown <davidb@codeaurora.org>, David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>, davinci-linux-open-source@linux.davincidsp.com, Eric Miao <eric.y.miao@gmail.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>, Guenter Roeck <guenter.roeck@ericsson.com>, Haojian Zhuang <haojian.zhuang@gmail.com>, Henrique de Moraes Holschuh <ibm-acpi@hmh.eng.br>, ibm-acpi-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, Jean-Christophe Plagniol-Villard <plagnioj@jcrosoft.com>, Jean Delvare <khali@linux-fr.org>, Jean-Paul Roubelat <jpr@f6fbb.org>, Joerg Reuter <jreuter@yaina.de>, Josh Boyer <jwboyer@gmail.com>, Kevin Hilman <khilman@ti.com>, Klaus Kudielka <klaus.kudielka@ieee.org>, Kukjin Kim <kgene.kim@samsung.com>, Kumar Gala <galak@kernel.crashing.org>, Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com>, Lennert Buytenhek <kernel@wantstofly.org>, Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>, Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@stericsson.com>, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org, linux-hams@vger.kernel.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-ide@vger.kernel.org, linux-media@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-mm@kvack.org, linux-mtd@lists.infradead.org, linux-omap@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org, lm-sensors@lm-sensors.org, Lucas De Marchi <lucas.demarchi@profusion.mobi>, Matthew Garrett <mjg59@srcf.ucam.org>, Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>, Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>, netdev@vger.kernel.org, Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@atmel.com>, Nicolas Pitre <nico@fluxnic.net>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@xenotime.net>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, Samuel Ortiz <sameo@linux.intel.com>, Sascha Hauer <kernel@pengutronix.de>, Sekhar Nori <nsekhar@ti.com>, Shawn Guo <shawn.guo@linaro.org>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Tomasz Stanislawski <t.stanislaws@samsung.com>, Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
Hello,

this series fixes a common error to use __initdata to mark const
variables. Most of the time this works well enough to go unnoticed
(though I wonder why the linker doesn't warn about that).
Just try adding something like

        int something __initdata;

to one of the patched files and compile to see the error.

While touching these annotations I also corrected the position where it
was wrong to go between the variable name and the =.

Note this series is not compile tested.

Best regards
Uwe

-- 
Pengutronix e.K.                           | Uwe Kleine-König            |
Industrial Linux Solutions                 | http://www.pengutronix.de/  |

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>