linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCHv2 01/14] common: dma-mapping: introduce alloc_attrs and free_

To: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCHv2 01/14] common: dma-mapping: introduce alloc_attrs and free_attrs methods
From: Sergei Shtylyov <sshtylyov@mvista.com>
Date: Wed, 28 Mar 2012 15:29:07 +0400
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>, FUJITA Tomonori <fujita.tomonori@lab.ntt.co.jp>, microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, x86@kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, discuss@x86-64.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-mm@kvack.org, linaro-mm-sig@lists.linaro.org, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>, Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com>, Andrzej Pietrasiewicz <andrzej.p@samsung.com>, Kevin Cernekee <cernekee@gmail.com>, Dezhong Diao <dediao@cisco.com>, Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
In-reply-to: <1332855768-32583-2-git-send-email-m.szyprowski@samsung.com>
References: <1332855768-32583-1-git-send-email-m.szyprowski@samsung.com> <1332855768-32583-2-git-send-email-m.szyprowski@samsung.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:11.0) Gecko/20120312 Thunderbird/11.0
Hello.

On 27-03-2012 17:42, Marek Szyprowski wrote:

Introduce new generic alloc and free methods with attributes argument.

   The method names don't match the ones in the subject.

Existing alloc_coherent and free_coherent can be implemented on top of the
new calls with NULL attributes argument. Later also dma_alloc_non_coherent
can be implemented using DMA_ATTR_NONCOHERENT attribute as well as
dma_alloc_writecombine with separate DMA_ATTR_WRITECOMBINE attribute.

This way the drivers will get more generic, platform independent way of
allocating dma buffers with specific parameters.

Signed-off-by: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>
Acked-by: Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com>
Reviewed-by: David Gibson <david@gibson.dropbear.ud.au>
Reviewed-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>

WBR, Sergei

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>