linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 00/12] Part 2: check given MAC address, if invalid return -EA

To: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 00/12] Part 2: check given MAC address, if invalid return -EADDRNOTAVAIL
From: Danny Kukawka <danny.kukawka@bisect.de>
Date: Wed, 29 Feb 2012 08:02:49 +0100
Cc: Michał Mirosław <mirqus@gmail.com>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Andy Gospodarek <andy@greyhouse.net>, "Guo-Fu Tseng" <cooldavid@cooldavid.org>, Petko Manolov <petkan@users.sourceforge.net>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, "John W. Linville" <linville@tuxdriver.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>, Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@vyatta.com>, Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>, Jeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com>, Jiri Pirko <jpirko@redhat.com>, netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-usb@vger.kernel.org, linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org, libertas-dev@lists.infradead.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-media@vger.kernel.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-hams@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org
In-reply-to: <CAMuHMdVZ8eVdRLtsq23XCLtA4wU7cTc-mLebAQ4QzO=gkuNMWQ@mail.gmail.com>
References: <1330099282-4588-1-git-send-email-danny.kukawka@bisect.de> <CAHXqBFK=u+MchBn=D31h6nhp-R9GTNbaC18QJA937zjXc60UQw@mail.gmail.com> <CAMuHMdVZ8eVdRLtsq23XCLtA4wU7cTc-mLebAQ4QzO=gkuNMWQ@mail.gmail.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: KMail/1.9.10
On Samstag, 25. Februar 2012, Geert Uytterhoeven wrote:
> 2012/2/24 Michał Mirosław <mirqus@gmail.com>:
> > 2012/2/24 Danny Kukawka <danny.kukawka@bisect.de>:
> >> Second Part of series patches to unifiy the return value of
> >> .ndo_set_mac_address if the given address isn't valid.
> >>
> >> These changes check if a given (MAC) address is valid in
> >> .ndo_set_mac_address, if invalid return -EADDRNOTAVAIL
> >> as eth_mac_addr() already does if is_valid_ether_addr() fails.
> >
> > Why not just fix dev_set_mac_address() and make do_setlink() use that?
>
> BTW, it's also called from dev_set_mac_address().
>
> > Checks are specific to address family, not device model I assume.
>
> Indeed, why can't this be done in one single place, instead of sprinkling
> these checks over all drivers, missing all out-of-tree (note: I don't care)
> and all soon-to-be-submitted drivers?

Since the .ndo_set_mac_address functions are used by some drivers internally 
too, you may get some new checks on other places. But I'll take a look at it.

Danny


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>