linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 00/12] Part 2: check given MAC address, if invalid return -EA

To: Michał Mirosław <mirqus@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 00/12] Part 2: check given MAC address, if invalid return -EADDRNOTAVAIL
From: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Date: Sat, 25 Feb 2012 11:13:21 +0100
Authentication-results: mr.google.com; spf=pass (google.com: domain of geert.uytterhoeven@gmail.com designates 10.180.89.71 as permitted sender) smtp.mail=geert.uytterhoeven@gmail.com; dkim=pass header.i=geert.uytterhoeven@gmail.com
Cc: Danny Kukawka <danny.kukawka@bisect.de>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Andy Gospodarek <andy@greyhouse.net>, Guo-Fu Tseng <cooldavid@cooldavid.org>, Petko Manolov <petkan@users.sourceforge.net>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, "John W. Linville" <linville@tuxdriver.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>, Danny Kukawka <dkukawka@suse.de>, Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@vyatta.com>, Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>, Jeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com>, Jiri Pirko <jpirko@redhat.com>, netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-usb@vger.kernel.org, linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org, libertas-dev@lists.infradead.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-media@vger.kernel.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-hams@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=gmail.com; s=gamma; h=mime-version:sender:in-reply-to:references:date :x-google-sender-auth:message-id:subject:from:to:cc:content-type :content-transfer-encoding; bh=FTo18kF83qd2ZDn8e2WM7/LVC5vCM7flxBkElmQKbL8=; b=Djb2cvWHDr0mB1R9I+E5VZYKvIB1jhAn+WYu1c3XJDMw1IizIe7b4ll5OhMRby8JUU RqKUYTXnDaqc6RjUbI1of85kTEaojeRmtzlASrjpv/8Oq+VEGxg20av4A+Dm+POK4yiH y/ZAd5eHhD/tB5D1BE88VS3R7aFvoe99lMeN8=
In-reply-to: <CAHXqBFK=u+MchBn=D31h6nhp-R9GTNbaC18QJA937zjXc60UQw@mail.gmail.com>
References: <1330099282-4588-1-git-send-email-danny.kukawka@bisect.de> <CAHXqBFK=u+MchBn=D31h6nhp-R9GTNbaC18QJA937zjXc60UQw@mail.gmail.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
2012/2/24 Michał Mirosław <mirqus@gmail.com>:
> 2012/2/24 Danny Kukawka <danny.kukawka@bisect.de>:
>> Second Part of series patches to unifiy the return value of
>> .ndo_set_mac_address if the given address isn't valid.
>>
>> These changes check if a given (MAC) address is valid in
>> .ndo_set_mac_address, if invalid return -EADDRNOTAVAIL
>> as eth_mac_addr() already does if is_valid_ether_addr() fails.
>
> Why not just fix dev_set_mac_address() and make do_setlink() use that?

BTW, it's also called from dev_set_mac_address().

> Checks are specific to address family, not device model I assume.

Indeed, why can't this be done in one single place, instead of sprinkling these
checks over all drivers, missing all out-of-tree (note: I don't care) and all
soon-to-be-submitted drivers?

Gr{oetje,eeting}s,

                        Geert

--
Geert Uytterhoeven -- There's lots of Linux beyond ia32 -- geert@linux-m68k.org

In personal conversations with technical people, I call myself a hacker. But
when I'm talking to journalists I just say "programmer" or something like that.
                                -- Linus Torvalds

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>