linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 00/12] Part 2: check given MAC address, if invalid return -EA

To: Danny Kukawka <danny.kukawka@bisect.de>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 00/12] Part 2: check given MAC address, if invalid return -EADDRNOTAVAIL
From: Michał Mirosław <mirqus@gmail.com>
Date: Fri, 24 Feb 2012 18:59:04 +0100
Authentication-results: mr.google.com; spf=pass (google.com: domain of mirqus@gmail.com designates 10.50.193.195 as permitted sender) smtp.mail=mirqus@gmail.com; dkim=pass header.i=mirqus@gmail.com
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Andy Gospodarek <andy@greyhouse.net>, Guo-Fu Tseng <cooldavid@cooldavid.org>, Petko Manolov <petkan@users.sourceforge.net>, "VMware, Inc." <pv-drivers@vmware.com>, "John W. Linville" <linville@tuxdriver.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>, Danny Kukawka <dkukawka@suse.de>, Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@vyatta.com>, Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>, Jeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com>, Jiri Pirko <jpirko@redhat.com>, netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-usb@vger.kernel.org, linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org, libertas-dev@lists.infradead.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-media@vger.kernel.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-hams@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=gmail.com; s=gamma; h=mime-version:in-reply-to:references:from:date:message-id:subject:to :cc:content-type:content-transfer-encoding; bh=HNn6H3hm4G/LuHJaxW51hiS54zqmUVFTWgoL8/Qwmp4=; b=uRweyO3pqeGxoxfdvseACLmdNBChiN19x/DDO3lfFzzkC4EHvlfgZClu3ED0MUHxSt 7crUfxu+uCPklEWZyUG9PVSYoVFz+4VfaBNEvTnjnXQgxZ7lplyVpX11gTcRpx5wNKLh TWLgXo2nKR4va2ROXG7Wd2IGRwoVUEpPi/2uc=
In-reply-to: <1330099282-4588-1-git-send-email-danny.kukawka@bisect.de>
References: <1330099282-4588-1-git-send-email-danny.kukawka@bisect.de>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
2012/2/24 Danny Kukawka <danny.kukawka@bisect.de>:
> Second Part of series patches to unifiy the return value of
> .ndo_set_mac_address if the given address isn't valid.
>
> These changes check if a given (MAC) address is valid in
> .ndo_set_mac_address, if invalid return -EADDRNOTAVAIL
> as eth_mac_addr() already does if is_valid_ether_addr() fails.

Why not just fix dev_set_mac_address() and make do_setlink() use that?
Checks are specific to address family, not device model I assume.

Best Regards,
Michał Mirosław

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>