linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 1/3] lib: add NO_GENERIC_PCI_IOPORT_MAP

To: "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/3] lib: add NO_GENERIC_PCI_IOPORT_MAP
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Date: Mon, 30 Jan 2012 15:51:46 +0000
Cc: Kevin Cernekee <cernekee@gmail.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org>, Myron Stowe <myron.stowe@redhat.com>, Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>, Lucas De Marchi <lucas.demarchi@profusion.mobi>, Dmitry Kasatkin <dmitry.kasatkin@intel.com>, James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>, "John W. Linville" <linville@tuxdriver.com>, Michael Witten <mfwitten@gmail.com>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <d78d91d0166651700cf662a50c87d84da4bdab88.1327877053.git.mst@redhat.com>
References: <cover.1327877053.git.mst@redhat.com> <d78d91d0166651700cf662a50c87d84da4bdab88.1327877053.git.mst@redhat.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: KMail/1.12.2 (Linux/3.3.0-rc1; KDE/4.3.2; x86_64; ; )
On Monday 30 January 2012, Michael S. Tsirkin wrote:
> --- a/include/asm-generic/pci_iomap.h
> +++ b/include/asm-generic/pci_iomap.h
> @@ -15,6 +15,11 @@ struct pci_dev;
>  #ifdef CONFIG_PCI
>  /* Create a virtual mapping cookie for a PCI BAR (memory or IO) */
>  extern void __iomem *pci_iomap(struct pci_dev *dev, int bar, unsigned long 
> max);
> +/* Create a virtual mapping cookie for a port on a given PCI device.
> + * Do not call this directly, it exists to make it easier for architectures
> + * to override. */
> +extern void __iomem *__pci_ioport_map(struct pci_dev *dev, unsigned long 
> port,
> +                                     unsigned int nr);
>  #else
>  static inline void __iomem *pci_iomap(struct pci_dev *dev, int bar, unsigned 
> long max)
>  {
> index 4b0fdc2..1dfda29 100644
> --- a/lib/pci_iomap.c
> +++ b/lib/pci_iomap.c
> @@ -9,6 +9,16 @@
>  #include <linux/export.h>
>  
>  #ifdef CONFIG_PCI
> +#ifndef CONFIG_NO_GENERIC_PCI_IOPORT_MAP
> +/* Architectures can override ioport mapping while
> + * still using the rest of the generic infrastructure. */
> +void __iomem *__pci_ioport_map(struct pci_dev *dev,
> +                              unsigned long port,
> +                              unsigned int nr)
> +{
> +       return ioport_map(port, nr);
> +}
> +#endif
>  /**
>   * pci_iomap - create a virtual mapping cookie for a PCI BAR
>   * @dev: PCI device that owns the BAR

This looks correct, but it would be nicer to express this with an inline
function and keeping the new #ifdef to the header file, like

+/*
+ * Create a virtual mapping cookie for a port on a given PCI device.
+ * Do not call this directly, it exists to make it easier for architectures
+ * to override.
+ */
+#ifdef CONFIG_NO_GENERIC_PCI_IOPORT_MAP
+extern void __iomem *__pci_ioport_map(struct pci_dev *dev, unsigned long port,
+                                     unsigned int nr);
+#else
+static inline void __iomem *__pci_ioport_map(struct pci_dev *dev,
+                              unsigned long port, unsigned int nr)
+{
+       return ioport_map(port, nr);
+}
+#endif

        Arnd

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>